We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swellengrebel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We slept here one night on our way east through the garden route. The place is not bad, clean and cheap. Yet the rooms are very cold and dump and not all are heated. The restaurant of the hotel, Jorje's, makes good food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

I had the privellage of staying over there one night during one of the towns annual festivals. Exceptionally friendly and efficient staff coupled with clean and extremely comfortable rooms. And the breakfast the next morning was an absolute winner!
This owner run hotel is exceptionally well managed and deserves far more praise! Thanks Carlo and his team for making my stay such a memrobal one.

Room Tip: Speak to Carlo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I spent one night at the hotel, and I must say the service was excellent. Management and staff were polite and professional.

I will be using them again for conferences and a place to get a great nights rest.

Brian

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swdcomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I arrived without a booking late one evening and was allocated a room that clearly hadn't been cleaned (with discarded food and other trash left in a rubbish bin) and the bed not properly made. On complaining, I was allocated another room on the far side of the hotel and up two flights of stairs and was told I could have this (more expensive room) for the same price. Frankly, the new room was not worth the price of the previous one but at least it had been cleaned. The corridor leading to the new room was in total darkness as the lights were broken. Finding the key hole in the darkness was a major issue. I was told someone would fix this in the next hour. It was still not repaired when I left the next morning.

Given the late hour and the fact that it was raining I ate in the restaurant and at least this was palatable and the staff were helpful. However, it is not a hotel I could recommend which is a pity because the town itself was a delightful place and a good stopping point between Cape Town and the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pirate10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I passed through Swellendam while traveling during the Soccer World Cup, and was pleasantly surprised by this Hotel. Upon arrival I was not expecting much considering that this is not the most modern hotel, but was very pleased with the staff, location and hotel in general. I would recommend the Swellengrebel Hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The staff at this hotel make it more bearable than it actually is- they are very helful and accommodating. The hotel itself is in need of a major overhaul and at our time of visiting I think we were the only guests in occupation of the deluxe (!?!) quarter which made it rather lacking in atmosphere.
The breakfast was fine.
Be careful as the maids seems to think it is ok to leave your room open until they leave mid afternoon which considering all the locks they have in the accommodation seems strange.
Overall however I think the problem is Swellendam as a whole. There is nothing to do and it is not as picturesque as the guide books make out. I would never recommend it to anyone (even to call in for an hour or two).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GringoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

It depends on your expectations, and this place is more a motel than a hotel, but it is perfectly acceptable for a night, or maybe two. it needs a face-lift, but is clean, and the staff are friendly, if casual. Our bedroom/bathroom were adequate. Apparently, there is little competition in the area so the Swellengrebel can set its own standards. The Sports Bar (part of the hotel but also entered from the street) is worth a visit to join the locals enjoying their rugby and cricket on T.V.screens. The food is only average by S.African standards. We were entertained by a small male voice choir after our evening meal - there is little to see or do in the town.
All in all, an okay place to stop at for a short time when touring the area.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nosnibor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
0.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
18.0 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Elianthe's Guesthouse
#12 of 39 in Swellendam
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swellengrebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellengrebel Hotel

Address: 91 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $45 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swellengrebel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swellengrebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing