We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway is the perfect getaway”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hideaway
Ranked #17 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Mark and Diana have made the hideaway the perfect place to spend a few days in the sun exploring the Overberg. The bedrooms are beautiful especially the new ectasy suite. Breakfasts are superb and the hosts friendly and obliging.This was our fourth visit and we will go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 241 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2009

As its name suggests this B&B is hidden away down a quiet road in this lovely town. From the front small and pretty but it is when you enter the rear garden that you realise just what a wonderful spot this is. Four large rooms and a tiny plunge pool room. all facing onto a rose-filled garden with wonderful views of the mountains. The rooms have everything you could wish for with complimentary drinks, tea and coffee making facilities, home-made shortbread and the wonderful "lest you forget" box containing all those little things you might suddenly need. Having an awful cold I even found the SA equivalent of a Lemsip in there. As for breakfast - nearly everything was homemade from jams and preserves to the bread. You could have anything you wanted from continental breakfast with meat and cheese and fruit to the full monty english breakfast (including baked beans - the first we had been offered in SA) or you could have both if you could manage it - and I have never seen such enormous croissants anywhere. You could even fill a doggy bag which was provided to see you through the day. At breakfast you also received a daily bulletin with weather, exchange rate and little thoughts for the day. Mark and Diana were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble from booking some very good restaurants to suggesting some great trips and providing much needed cold remedies. Swellendam is a great little place with some good restaurants, all recommended by Mark and Diana. Thank you to you both - it was the perfect relaxing last three days of our trip to SA (apart from the head cold)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Having come from a bustling Cape Town the next stop on our South African trip was a truely delightful little place. We only spent the one night there but it was the perfect place to get some well earned rest and relaxation. The room was huge and absolutely beautiful and I just loved the his and her toilet rolls - so funny! Met the family dog and really felt like were were visiting rfamily - thank you for making it so personal! Extra nice touch was the booking of a local restaurant for us so when we arrived in the evening we had somewhere lovely to go and eat all lit by candle light.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLover019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This was a great find. Lovely en-suite rooms surrounding a well kept garden. Lots of nice touches in the rooms like wireless connectivity, drinks and nibbles. Wellcoming, helpful hosts who were also great with our toddler. Lovely breakfast room and breakfast. Good location within Swellendam. My only regret is that we stayed just one night on our way somewhere else. The Hideaway and the area deserved more.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shugaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We very much enjoyed our night at the Hideaway. We've been to lots of hotels before which pride themselves on their 'special touches' but this is the only one I've been to which lived up to that boast! In our room, there was amazing homemade shortbread, a bottle of port and one of Muscadel for a nightcap, a fridge with complimentary water, soft drinks and beer, full-size bottles of really lovely toiletries, a proper cafetiere and fresh coffee (the only time we found one in a hotel room in SA!), and a 'Lest you forgot' box with everything from headache pills to tampons!

Service was friendly and open without being OTT - it was especially nice that Mark was happy to chat over breakfast, making us feel very welcome. And they gave us a little bottle of homemade liquer and a CD of photos to take away when we checked out!

Breakfast itself was absolutely excellent - you let them know when you're going to arrive so they can cook your croissants for you fresh! There was also wonderful fresh bread and muffins, a very comprehensive and high quality continental selection, homemade jams, fresh fruit, and a really excellent cooked breakfast, too. And, as they say on their website, a doggy bag to take it away in!

My husband wanted to give this 5 stars - I think I'd taken half a star off for the fact that the room was pretty small by SA standards and a bit overstuffed, and because we felt a little bit out on a limb in the guest accommodation at the back of the house, and not entirely comfortable when we needed to ask for things. Also, the decor of our room, while very nice, wasn't to my taste - a very personal comment, but that kind of thing does factor in to ratings, after all. Since I can't give 4.5 stars, 4 it is - I'd still highly recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of staying at The Hideaway on our holiday to South Africa. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for mark or Diana. Travel tips, places to visit and general information were all to hand . The accommodation was fantastic, facilities as good as any 5* hotel and made to feel like old friends. Thank you mark and Diana for all of the above

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

What a pleasant suprse when we arrived at The Hideaway, straight away we were made to feel at home and felt like we had known Mark and Diana for years, they really are the perfect hosts and go about looking after their guests in the right way. We stayed for two nights in the Queen Elizabeth suite but wished we had the time to stay longer it was that nice. The whole place was faultless and i would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants perfection. My daughter had hours of fun with George the collie who adds to the whole package.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyroadmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.5 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: 10 Hermanus Steyn Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $115 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small country guest house in the breathtakingly beautiful Swellendam region of South Africa has the charm and elegance to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. Stephen and Jackie offer a unique experience of 5 Star accommodation: unrivaled hospitality, elegant furnishings, understated luxury with emphasis on service and guest satisfaction, and one of the best breakfasts in South Africa. Swellendam is an ideal location from which to explore the Overberg region, which is full of things to do an places to see. There is so much to do in the area that Stephen and Jackie will gladly help you to plan your trip. Please get in touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing