We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hideaway
Ranked #18 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

What a pleasant suprse when we arrived at The Hideaway, straight away we were made to feel at home and felt like we had known Mark and Diana for years, they really are the perfect hosts and go about looking after their guests in the right way. We stayed for two nights in the Queen Elizabeth suite but wished we had the time to stay longer it was that nice. The whole place was faultless and i would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants perfection. My daughter had hours of fun with George the collie who adds to the whole package.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyroadmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    16
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
159
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

This really was a terrific find. The hideaway is just that,nestled in a quiet backwater with mountains in the distance , surrounded by stunning gardens Diane and Mark are the perfect hosts.The rooms are luxurious ,breakfast scrumptious ,everything homemade,our hosts even made us a dinner reservation for our first night preceeded by drinks in their own lounge in front of a roaring log fire and once again homemade nibbles.Diane even offered to put on the electric blanket ready for our return from dinner.!
Our hosts were charming, attentive ....home from home. We can highly recommend this fantastic bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed just one night, and wished it had been longer. We stayed in the Queen Elizabeth Suite, which had a large comfortable bed for my husband and I, and a separate single bed for our teenage daughter. We all had heated mattress pads, as it was winter. It was a quiet, peaceful and beautiful location. Since we were there in winter, we could not enjoy the rose gardens, but it is obvious that it would be spectacular in summer. Our daughter fell in love with their dog "George". Kevin, the owner, was very helpful, and suggested a nice place for dinner within walking distance, that was very good. Breakfast was very nice and served by Kevin. The room had a small fridge with a variety of juices and bottled water, as well as a coffee and tea maker. A nice added touch was a jar of shortbreads that were delicious. They have a solar heated soaking pool "The Wallow" that looked inviting, but again we were there in winter so we did not try it. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringStranger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Mark and Diana took really good care of us. Their b&b is located on a beautiful old street dominated by houses in the old "Cape Dutch"-style. The rooms were very comfortable, maybe a bit plushy, though. Their garden and pool area is a perfect place to relax after a long day on the road. Besides preparing a delicious breakfast the owners also helped us with bookings at a nearby restaurant which can truly be decribed as a hidden gem ("The Old Gaol"). This is the right choice when going to Swelledam.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdave23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

The Hideaway is a very, very nice place to stay! We had a beautiful large room, overlooking the garden. The surrouding is quiet and very safe. The breakfast is, as the website promissed, indeed very generous and all is fresh and homemade. What however really makes this place so nice is the charme and kindness of the owners Mark and Diana. They make you really feel at home. There are lovely restaurants at walking distance which Mark and Diana will book for you. We will certainly go back at our next visit to South Africa!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FransRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

The 'Hideaway' is in a league of it,s own, the 5 Star Plus standards throughout this truly wonderful house are maintained and complemented by the honest, genuine and professional Mark and Diana. Excellent 'Full Monty' breakfast and all the home made accompaniments, beautiful garden and grounds, large spotless rooms, fantastic service all round, even down to restaurant bookings and advice on wine tours and visits to the local National Parks. Peaceful and Tranquil a perfect place 'to 'chill out' completely, we just can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherelynCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

after travelling the world far and wide i have to say that Diane and Mark make this guest house one of the very very best. From the unrivalled welcome (after 8pm with no booking) to presentation of the beautiful room with a welcome glass of chilled wine. our room included a stocked fridge, port, sweet red wine and homemade shortbread. Once we were settled we noticed the above average details which really went that extra mile - his n hers shower, sinks and loo roll !!- to the belly button fluff (incase you have forgotten yours !!), Mark personnaly phoned a local restaurant to fit us in so late, and "the Gaol" was great too. In the morning we ate breakfast over fascinating conversation, homemade muffins, croissants,breads & jams with local cheeses and meats. We were given some great info about where to go and how to ensure we didnt miss the best spots, we were even given a map with directions. It was with a sad and oh too soon attitude with which we had to leave, but to boost our spirits we were given some "hideaway liqour" as a keepsake - yet more of those special details.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.6 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
0.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Property: The Hideaway
Address: 10 Hermanus Steyn Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small country guest house in the breathtakingly beautiful Swellendam region of South Africa has the charm and elegance to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. Stephen and Jackie offer a unique experience of 5 Star accommodation: unrivaled hospitality, elegant furnishings, understated luxury with emphasis on service and guest satisfaction, and one of the best breakfasts in South Africa. Swellendam is an ideal location from which to explore the Overberg region, which is full of things to do an places to see. There is so much to do in the area that Stephen and Jackie will gladly help you to plan your trip. Please get in touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing