We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
228
20
17
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
20
17
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco pool glass of wine pool house one night home cooking early evening drinks the free mini bar home made other guests rose garden little extras before dinner beautiful place hidden away south africa large garden guest house
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 274 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2009

This was the best B&B we stayed in on our month long holiday in SA and thoroughly deserves its 5* rating in the Portfolio book. We had a warm welcome from Mark and Diana in very inclement weather and they were helpful and thoughtful throughout our stay, offer ing hospitality which exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed with every consideration given to guests . Their hospitality each evening when we met up with fellow guests over a drink was unique. The home-made breakfasts were excellent and we were even provided with 'doggie bags' so that we could get through the day .We would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to friends and hope to return there in the future - it would be a 'must' for us.
Don and Veronica Biddle.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank CatloverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed three nights at The Hideaway as part of our honeymoon. Out of all the guesthouses we stayed at during our 3 weeks in South Africa The Hideaway was our favourite. On arriving we were met by Diana and Mark and shown to our room which was gorgeous with a well stocked fridge and a jar of Diana's homemade shortbread which was replenished daily much to our delight! Each evening we were invited for a glass of wine with the other guests before heading off for dinner at a local restaurant recommended and booked by Diana and Mark. They were equally helpful with days out also, recommending and booking activities for us. We had such a peaceful relaxing time here we were reluctant to leave and were made to feel so welcome that when we had to return to collect some forgotten shirts on our way back to Cape Town we felt like we were coming back to visit old friends! We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jojomcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Mark and Diana make you feel one of the family as soon as you arrive, the accommodation is five star , home made bread jams and farm cheeses on top off the cooked breakfast and expert advice on the area would recomend to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juliakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

For a small town, Swellendam has a lot to offer. The rooms are lovely at the Hideaway, but our hosts, Mark and Diana, made our visit very memorable and special. They were charming, fun and eager to insure a pleasant stay. Our room, The Queen Elizabeth Suite, was very comfortable and well-appointed. It had a four-poster bed, antique closet and even a spinning wheel as decoration. There was delicious shortbread, beverages (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) in our room. Breakfast included homemade bread, muffins and scones, hot dishes and a take-away bag to have something to snack on later in the day.

Mark and Diana recommended two excellent restaurants: Roosje's, just a fews blocks away, and La Sosta, a very short drive.

Next door to the Hideaway is a pottery shop. David, the potter, and Felicity, an artist, welcomed us into their home where we enjoyed wonderful, enlightening conversation and their hospitality.

We suggest you ask Mark and Diana about the hiking trails that are nearby. You'll find trails that are suitable for light hikes and more challenging hikes.

When planning a trip to South Africa, do not miss Swellendam.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The Hideaway is a unique and hospitable place to stay.

It is important to say upfront that the excellent website intimates a boutique hotel. It is not a hotel; it is an historic old family home converted to a guesthouse with a series of rooms (they call them suites) in the garden. The fact it is not a 5 star hotel should not detract from what is on offer. For it is certainly a 5 star guesthouse.

The owners will do everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Marks background in the hotel industry is evident in the attention to detail. They really cannot do enough to help, be it restaurant reservations, or making a welcoming cup of tea at check in.

All the rooms are different and quirky, each named after a different rose. They are well appointed with antique furniture, and plenty of space. 3 of the 4 rooms appear to be in a converted outbuilding, with the 4th, located in an extension of the main residence.

Electric blankets and fan heaters kept off the winter chill, but the rooms would be so much cosier and romantic with the addition of a wood burner, or fireplace.

A great breakfast is served at a communal dining table, which we enjoyed but may not suit those seeking more privacy first thing in the morning. The guesthouse is very child friendly. The staff ensuring we were all addressed by name throughout our brief stay.

Parking can be an issue, but again the staff took the pain away by keeping our keys and juggling cars on the small off street parking.

There is a tiny unheated pool in a conservatory in the garden. It will provide a fun place for one or two people to splash in the heat of the summer. It is aptly named The Wallow.

If you want to stay in a well managed, homely guesthouse that represents great value, and should be a template for other hostelries to follow then stay here.

If you are expecting a five star boutique hotel look elsewhere, but you wont find a better place to stay in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank capetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews