We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway
Ranked #16 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unfortunately we spent there only one night and the weather was awful, but the place was absolutely amazing and the owners’ hospitality outstanding. The B&B has very nice and tidy rooms on a very beautiful garden in an extremely quiet area: all details are carefully studied to make your staying unforgettable. The main house, where guests have breakfast has a lot of character, but it’s the hospitality and warmth of the owners that really makes this place special! Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldbaer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the Hideaway just for one night, but this was more then enough to know why it is rated with 5 stars. From the beginning till the end end we were very warm welcomed by Jackie and Stephen. We had 2 rooms which were both lovely situated at their beautifeul rose garden.
It is very quiet located and onm walking distance of the restaurant and attractions Swellendam has to offer Our rooms were very well equipped with everything you might need and more. Also the personal attention and details were more then 100%. In the evening we joined theme for a glass of wine at their fireplace and afterwards we had a very good dinner in the restaurant Stephen had arranged for us.It was in a old Kaap Hollands building which made it very romantic.
The breakfast the next morning was very completed with home made Jam, muffins, bread etc.
And then they provided us with a (kind of) doggy bag so we could take the muffins whit us to have a lovely picknick in the afternoon.
If we would ever visit South Africa, Swellendam, again, we know now which place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomasvandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 1 night at the Hideaway on our way to Cape Town.

Jackie and Stephen make you feel very welcome and the rooms have a very homely feel. We were invited into the house for a glass of wine before going for a meal which Stephen had kindly booked for us.

After a comfortable nights sleep we had breakfast, which was varied and all very fresh which made it all tasty. A particular highlight were the freshly baked scones.

Our only regret was that we only stayed in the area for 1 evening and could have had another night to explore the area a little more as it looked very picturesque.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were looking forward to our one night stay and were not dissapointed. Jackie and Stephen made us very welcome and had even taken the trouble to book us into a local resteraunt for dinner .
The rooms are fantastic, all different and just off the lovely garden. So many extra special touches like homemade shortbread in the room , dessert wine and an invitation to enjoy a glass of wine in the garden with our hosts before dinner.

We made good use of the plunge pool called The Wallow it was very refreshing after a long drive.

The breakfast is really something else...you name it and it was available . A very nice touch is providing a woofy bag to take away goodies from the buffet. We really enjoyed the homemade muffins on our journey.

Not too much to see in Swellendam but a good stopping off place if travelling the garden route.

Room Tip: Pick any they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 907Chris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our second visit to the Hideaway and we found it excellent yet again. Jackie and Stephen are great hosts, and arrange meals and suggest what to do in the area. The rooms are lovely and there are many little extras, including free wine and conversation before you venture out for dinner The breakfasts are massive and there is always the doggy bag to keep you going during the day. I cannot recommend the Hideaway highly enough if you are planning to stay in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you are travelling the Garden Route then The Hideaway at Swellendam is the perfect place to break your journey. That said, you need to stay more than 1 night. Not just because the accommodation is fantastic (which it is), but because Swellendam dam is a fascinating little town which will keep you amused for several days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DplusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Hideaway and wished we could have stayed for at least one more night. There is very little information to be found on Swellendam in the regular guidebooks but if you need to know more, Stephen is incredibly knowledgeable on the surrounding area.

We stayed in Double Delight, named after a variety of rose and there was a beautiful vase of roses on the dressing table, together with lots of other finishing touches mentioned by other guests.

The garden is so peaceful with views of the surrounding mountains.

As everyone has said, Jackie and Stephen are great hosts and we shared a glass of wine with them before walking to a very pleasant restaurant, Sabines, about five minutes' away, for our evening meal.

We hope to visit South Africa again and will try and make this part of our itinerary. It is such an easy stop off from the N2 and well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.2 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: 10 Hermanus Steyn Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $116 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small country guest house in the breathtakingly beautiful Swellendam region of South Africa has the charm and elegance to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. Stephen and Jackie offer a unique experience of 5 Star accommodation: unrivaled hospitality, elegant furnishings, understated luxury with emphasis on service and guest satisfaction, and one of the best breakfasts in South Africa. Swellendam is an ideal location from which to explore the Overberg region, which is full of things to do an places to see. There is so much to do in the area that Stephen and Jackie will gladly help you to plan your trip. Please get in touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing