We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in the area”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We keep on coming back to this fantastic and luxury B&B. We consider ourselves as friends with Carla and Maarten and whenever we are there we feel "at home". Rooms, location, area, garden, pool, service, staff, shop (just outside the gate and a spa is in the planning!), breakfast, info on what to do/where to eat is excellent. Regarding this last remark we recommend La Sosta (Italian restaurant - reservations necessary!). We certainly will recommend this to friends and everyone who will ask us where to stay in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brave315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Bloomestate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 623 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Bloomestate in Swellendam and we wished we had more time to spend there. The rooms are big and spacious, comfortable and inspiring. The gardens around, the swimming pool, the Bar, everything make you calm and relax. The beakfast is very very good and Carla and Maarten are warm, open and helpful people. We will come again.
Rivka and Beni Grinshtein

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RivkaNir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bloomestate in Swellendam was our 4th stop of five along the Garden Route. We had stayed at some great places already, so we were delighted that Bloomestate kept the high standard. The hosts, Carla and Maarten made us so welcome. Prior to the visit, they had organised horse riding and restaurants for us, and whilst there provided great breakfasts and even offered to drive us to a restaurant. The rooms and communal areas are very modern in style but not lacking in comfort. Bathroom products are from the very stylish home store, Rain, which has its flagship store next door. All the rooms open onto fabulous landscaped gardens with views of the surrounding mountains. Being able to leave the French doors of our room open and stroll over to sunbathe by the pool made for a very relaxing environment. We had 3 days there having discovered there was plenty to do in the surrounding area, however we decided to do very little other than relax at Bloomestate! There are a couple of very good restaurants within walking distance including the excellent La Sosta. Swellendam is a quiet but very charming small town, in a picturesque setting, strategically well positioned for a stop of a few nights between Cape Town and the Garden Route.

Room Tip: All look to be equally as good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stottyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thank you to Carla and Maarten for making us so welcome and making our stay truly pleasurable experience. The accommodation and surroundings are beautiful, so tranquil and comfortable. The breakfast is 5 star, attractive and delicious. We will recommend you to our friends and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomestate, Owner at Bloomestate, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review, Wendy and it was our real pleasure to contribute to your South Africa holiday and make your Bloomestate stay as comfortable as it was. All our guests are special for us and bring their own little thing in it, which makes Bloomestate a lovely place to be, either for our guests as well as for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A beautifully laid out complex with large,individual suites in separate,small blocks.Large lounge and bar area, swimming pool plus surrounding gardens.Very professionally run by a Dutch couple, Carla and Maarten, who made our stay just lovely.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been there the second time for 4 nights. Carla and Marteen again great hosts. Nothing is missing and everythings working in the room and bathroom. Excellent breakfast, great lounge with coffe machine and tea, fridge and drinks of almost any kind; pool and garden a pleasure.
We'll be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Two nights spent at this superb establishment. Although it is many hours from home in Europe, we will return. Owners made us very welcome - sat down together with tea/beer to run through details of the place. They even recommended & booked a restaurant in the evening as we did not know the area.

Comfortable rooms in two blocks. Modern design and all amenities including reasonably priced wine/beer in mini bar. Good security for guests and vehicles. Even electrical adapters were provided! In well equipped club house there is a wide range of tourist information, DVDs and an honesty bar. Free coffee and tea.

Superb breakfast included cold meat/fish, prepared fruit and local cheese fresh orange juice was a favourite. As was the excellent coffee. Cooked breakfast was just right, with fresh eggs and bacon.

Pool was on the small side, but the view of the hills behind made up for this

Rhodesian Ridgeback, Scamper(?) was so cool.

Even a follow up email a week after we left, wishing us a safe flight back to the UK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $110 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing