We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in historic Swellendam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Khan.anisha@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem in historic Swellendam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Carla and Martin offered superb Dutch hospitality during our 3-day stay at their serene, tranquil and luxurious guesthouse. They were incredibly helpful and did everything possible to make us feel welcome, comfortable and at home. The highlight of our stay was looking forward to the breakfast each morning. Bloomestate is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you prefer absolute quiet, request a room away from the pond - as the frogs can be pretty roudy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabulosity73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
408
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days. The owners Carla and Maarten give a new meaning to the word Hospitality. We were welcomed with cool drinks as they explained hoe everything works. There is a swimmingpool, jacuzzi, relaxing pond. There is an honesty bar: you keep track of your drinks from the bar and when you leave you settle the bill.
Breakfast is wonderful. So many delicious choices.
Parking is free as is Wifi Internet.
Carla and Maarten make reservations in the most popular restaurants before you arrive but It is not an obligation. We were very pleased with the restaurants they chose for us.
Worth another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night whilst passing through Swellendam, which was a pity as we would have liked to stay longer. It was our first stop after a arriving in Capetown from Melbourne. What an oasis and fabulous introduction to South Africa! The accommodation is excellent and the grounds beautiful. Carla and Manfred are wonderful hosts and could not do enough for us. The breakfast though just blew us away. Beautifully presented and very very tasty. Thanks guys.
Mike

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed in the "Summer" room at Bloomestate after having the boutique recommended by a friend. The stay was definitely the best of our time in South Africa; the rooms are gorgeously decorated and this compliments the beautiful architecture and gardens. In addition to your own room there is a communal lounge stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits, dvds and books. Breakfast was amazing with a huge amount of choice, all of the food was fresh and locally sourced. Carla and Maarten definitely go the extra mile, even providing transport to the restaurants we chose each evening. We would definitely recommend the boutique to friends and family.

Room Tip: All of the individually themed "seasonal" rooms are beautiful with a view of the gardens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiieeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a marvelous place to stay! Great and tasteful designed lodges in a very nice and spacious garden. With a lot of comfort, you cannot even consider it by yourself. Maarten en Carla are very friendly, warm and welcoming, and succeed in exceeding your expectations on different fields! The rooms are ample with great beds and a very nice and luxury bathroom. The breakfast is excellent and fresh, with a lot of choice and nice little tasteful surprises. The free wifi everywhere in the place is working very well and fast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaOverveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
307 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great estate if you like perfection. We had very warm welcome and recieved good dinner recommendation. The rooms are big and very nice decorated. So is breakfast. In my view it was a little too perfect.

Room Tip: We booked the least expensive room and that was already perfect. There is no need to book the more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were hosted by Carla and Maarten during three days of our three-week holiday in South Africa. Before we went to Swellendam, we had seen many lodges, o.a. in private game reserves.
Bloomestate, however, really stood out for the warm hospitality of Carla and Maarten and the best breakfast (excellent fresh fruits, and eggs poached to perfection) we had seen during our trip.

Room Tip: Each room has its own special character. We enjoyed the "FIRE" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon_Robert-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.9 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
0.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
De Kloof Luxury Estate
#2 of 4 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Property: Bloomestate
Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing