We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"La grande classe"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
french/aussie in Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"La grande classe"”
Reviewed February 12, 2007

This was our perfect hotel: beautiful Cape dutch old buildings, lovely peaceful gardens and pool. Sophisticated, classy decor which sings to Africa and the traveler. Extremely comfortable rooms with a fantastic attention to detail. Wine tasting in the evening, great reading library, delicious breakfast with champagne.
A small and personnable treasure: the owners really know their stuff. It really didn't matter that it rained when we were there!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank deanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
178
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Historic property with wonderful mountain views.
Room was fabulous and could not be faulted.
The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable and took pleasure in showing us around their home and gardens.
Due to restaurants being very busy they had pre-booked for all their guests who wished to dine.
Breakfasts were delightful (the apple pie was delicious!).
Guests cars were washed each morning.

  • Liked — Nothing had been forgotten with regard to the room and facilities.
  • Disliked — The two large dogs, but they were very friendly!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Treborvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We stayed here for one night on 11th November 2006. Friendly welcome and we were shown round the property. We were upgraded from a Superior room to a Luxury room. The main difference being the bathroom. The bedroom was OK, was furnished in a modern style, but the floors were very uneven (not a fault, but a feature of the wood used). Beds were long and quite narrow, and although the duvets were long, they didn't seem wide enough.

The bathroom was enormous, as big if not bigger than the bedroom. There were two basins, a bath, shower and toilet. There was no heating in the bathroom, but the stone floors were very cold underfoot and the room would have benefitted from some sort of heating.

We arrived quite late, but they still gave us the wine tasting, which was good. They had also booked us into into a restaurant, as there was a big wedding in town and most of the retsaurants were fully booked. Breakfast was a buffet selection and or cooked and was fine. They also washed the car as a courtesy.

  • Disliked — Birds on the tin roof in early morning
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2006

Stayed here for one night and really wished I had stayed here (rather than some other hotels) for longer. The rooms are contemporary with luxurious beds and bathrooms.

The owners are warm, welcoming and seem to have thought of everything. We have an infant and were running late so said we would have to pass on the wine tasting - the owners thoughtfully provided us with a tray of 3 wines to try in the room with tasting notes.

The pool is lovely, there are videos to watch, and free internet access to name but a few of the thoughtful touches at De Kloof.

The town is one of the nicest we stayed in on the garden route with plenty of good restaurants locally and some boutique shops.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2006

Have to agree with previous comments. Lovely room, huge bathroom, lovely grounds and staff very friendly. Unfortunatly it was a one night stay passing through. Would like to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gruff56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 19, 2005

We stayed at the DeKloof Luxury Estate in August 2005. It was everything we had hoped for and more. The grounds and buildings were beautiful, quiet and secure. The room had all the amenities one could ask for. The hosts were wonderful and gave us just the right amount of attention--they left us to ourselves but provided anything and everything we needed. We had a lovely and informative wine taste before we left for dinner in Swellendam. Breakfast was superb and the cook was willing to whip up anything we asked for. I wish we could have stayed longer. I highly recommend the DeKloof.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
67 reviews
17.6 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate

Property: De Kloof Luxury Estate
Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing