We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

“If you ever get to beautiful swellendam, let me recommend 'de kloof' guest house. sharp, friendly service & gastronomical delights aplenty. and a very important point for me who often can't sleep well in hotels etc. - the comforts and atmosphere were such that i slept really well for a change.” – Chris Chameleon

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekloof, Owner at De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this message.
Our main goal at De Kloof Luxury Estate is to treat and spoil each individual guest in every possible way to ensure a great stay at this intimate hotel.

Our team is grateful to read your kind comments and it was a pleasure to host such talented and famous musician & artist. We look forward to welcome you back in the future !

Marjolein van Mourik Borrias
Owner General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Historic charming setting, but lots of cost cutting going on. Cold rooms without heaters, very little warm water in the tanks, breakfast straight from Pick and Pay - for a five star estate one can reasonably expect something to be home cooked or baked, but here everything is straight from vacuum pack to table. Visitors would probably be better off in a smaller family run B&B with a more personal touch.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JBinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekloof, Owner at De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

The hotel team is in disbelief and saddened about the incorrect, untrue and unfair comments left by the reviewer whom it seems likes to harm deliberately because of the below points which were not ventilated during the guest stay or upon check out.

Firstly all rooms and suites DO have individual climate control and the room was warm and inviting upon the guests arrival. The heater can be switched to a 30 degree Celsius and worked properly during the entire stay of guest.

Secondly each room has its own large water tank which contains a minimum of 150 litres capacity of hot water. A full bath and rain shower can be taken easily at the same time. There has been no report on faulty of the tank and it is in good order

Thirdly the breakfast is always freshly prepared because of the fact it is a la carte with an extensive cold and hot menu to choose from. Daily freshly baked bread rolls, warm croissants and pastries were presented and enjoyed by guest plus a tailor made eggwhite only hot breakfast

Fourthly the hotel is an owner and family run business since the opening in 2004

De Kloof Luxury Estate is categorized as a boutique hotel and country house and offers in total eight guest rooms and suites. Due to this intimate size and limited number of rooms we are therefor able to give a very personal service and go the extra mile for tailor made services to the guest wishes and needs. The high level of service and professionalism with a very personal touch is in particular were the hotel is well known for.

Marjolein van Mourik -Borrias
Owner Manager
De Kloof Luxury Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here one night during our travels in South Africa, as I wanted to visit historic Swellendam, and this looked a typical group of historic buildings in itself. It has charm and has been beautifully restored and maintained, in pleasant gardens. Adele, the manageress, was welcoming and helpful, and our room was ready despite our arriving not long after noon. We were given a short tour of the grounds before being taken to our lovely room 'under the thatch', which was well furnished, with a good bathroom (shower), comfortable bed, nice little balcony and free wifi. In the evening the short wine tasting in front of the log fire was very pleasant, and a nice attempt to help guests socialise with eachother. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open that night, but Adele showed us menus for local restaurants, made excellent recommendations and booked a table for us at the restaurant of our choice, which was very good. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked from a good range of choices, and accompanied by a glass of sparkling rose wine. Before our departure, our car was washed as an added complimentary service - Nice touch!
Yes, this is a little more expensive than other 'guest houses' in the area, but well worth it in our opinion.
One little suggestion - Warn guests that the walk back up from the town is a little steep!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

De Kloof is a must stay if in Swellendam. The historical home and grounds sweeps you back in time and any travel weariness is swept away. The staff is phenomenal and the breakfast wonderful. This truly is Five Star accommodation and service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Family Suite which more than comfortably house my wife, son and I. It has two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our best stay on a 10 day South African vacation. Excellent service throughout, pleasant and attentive without being overbearing. Lovely decor in the rooms. We were shown 2 to choose from, one being an offer for upgrade without charge. We actually chose the original room as it had a lovely balcony. Beautiful gardens and views. Dinner was excellent, interesting and very nicely served. Breakfast was just right. Relaxed luxury at its best!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Opher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

September 2010 I stayed in The Kloof for three days, together with colleques. It is beautiful and authentic estate that sets the standard for all my South Africa experiences. Personel is very friendly. Breakfast and dinner were superb. I would recommend it to anyone travelling without kids. Young kids would not appreciate the luxury and probably "run" into some delicate art that lifts the atmosphere.

Room Tip: I had the loft above the attic, which was very nice. I liked the loft in the cottage the most, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our 12 day trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth.
The welcome we received including comp drinks was very positive though we were surprised to hear we would be sleeping on a waterbed. We didn't like it.

The bathroom was large and looked fab but the basins were set back too far to use easily, the rain shower just dribbled and took 10 minutes to warm up. The jacuzzi bath took 25 mins to fill.

The pool and views were fab but there was barely room to navigate the sun beds around the pool and there was no poolside service which was a pain when we were thirsty.

On the plus side breakfasts were very well presented and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

With the benefit of hindsight we would not return to Swellendam as it did not seem worth the stop.

Room Tip: Avoid the manor room with the waterbed unless you like that sort of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark_and_Judy_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekloof, General Manager at De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

The travel agent did book this very popular Manor Suite with latest high -stabilized super king waterbed for guests. A waterbed contributes to an overall feel of well- being and is proven good for people with back/neck problems and in this case the knee problem of guest.

The waterbed was explained upon check-in to guest and they were excited to experience it. Hotel could have easily booked guests to another suite with xl bed mattress if guest had ventilated this.

Upon check in the receptionist always recommend to guests to explore the beautiful hotel grounds with several areas with great mountain views, secluded gardens, rose gardens lavender paths ,dams and koi ponds. Especially in summer guest can enjoy the several different located sitting areas and can order a drink or a meal.

According to the guest bill guests did enjoy on both days a lunch at their own private suite terrace as well drinks which were served at the pool.

The large pool area with a 12 meter pool with panoramic mountain views is designed in such way that it can be enjoyed for all times of day to enjoy morning and afternoon sun or the shade .
In this way there is no need to navigate with large sun loungers, umbrellas or furniture.

A staff member was asked to come and assist with the Jacuzzi bubble bath and noted that the swivel had been turned to the wrong way ,to cold instead of warm.

As the guest was unfortunately sick and in bed for the whole day, breakfast was served to their suite and a late checkout granted.

Hopefully we may welcome the guest back in good health to be able to explore the historical safe quaint village of Swellendam with Cape Dutch architecture buildings, shops & boutiques, many good restaurants. A great destination and base from where to explore the unspoilt Overberg region with its many nature parks, wineries and so much more to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel

Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $148 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing