We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Most of the hotels we had stayed in during our 2 week trip to South Africa had catered to my penchant for modernism (and South Africa did not disappoint!), but we decided to try to experience a Cape-Dutch colonial property during our stay- and De Kloof did not disappoint!
The property is absolutely charming. Situated on a private, quiet cup-de sac and flanked on one side by a nature reserve, the property has a stunning location- with fantastic vistas to mountains that dominate the skyline of Swellendam. The estate, the oldest property in Swellendam, was built in 1802, in the cape-dutch style, and retains the old-world charm while maintaining all of the luxury amenities you would expect from a 5-star rated property. The gardens are beautiful- bursting with flowers (particularly roses), and the pool area is exceptional.
We received a wonderful welcome- and an upgrade to the Manor Suite- in the main building of the estate. The room was stunning (equipped with a water bed!), with lovely old floors, double dutch doors and a bathroom to die for! We were invited to a free wine tasting where the somellier gave us a sampling of the wines from the Robertson region (there are many to choose from), and the selection was delicious! We chose to dine at De Kloof- and the meal also did not disappoint- 5 courses, each more delicious than the one before! Breakfast was delicious, off their ala-carte menu- which they will serve in your room, on the front sunny terrace, or in the dining room of the Manor House. Finally- the service through the stay was excellent- and the owners made the time to introduce themselves and give us a proper welcome to their beautiful home. Strongly recommended for a taste of old-world charm, excellent food, fantastic wines, and beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sciencedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived at the Kloof latish and were inmediatly impressed by the buildings and the decor. Old dutch estate, very well kept wonderfully decorated. a mixture of traditional and modern. Very appealing. Friendly staff showed us to our rooms. Extremely well appointed. My wife and I were upgraded to the manor suite. Big bedroom ,huge bathroom. Extremely comfortable. It had a king size waterbed !! I was fairly weary as I had only tried one years ago and could not sleep. This one, howver, was great, A most relaxing sleep. Breakfast was varied and very good. A fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Manor suite was great. Any with a water bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Perfect location, beautiful garden, excellent breakfast, warm atmosphere and very good staff.
Upon our arrival we have been upgraded to a very large room in a separate building with private balcony;
We really appreciated the owners' helpfulness: they offered us excellent wine tastings, they suggested us a very good restaurant nearby (and they also gave us a lift there!) and they had plenty of useful tips which made our visits of the surroundings even more pleasant.
Also, we had bikes at our disposal, which was a very nice way to visit Swellendam.
The garden and the pool were perfect, relaxing hideaways.
During our stay their big doberman dog has always been around, but you should not worry, it's the sweetest dog ever!
We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The only thing I regret about De Kloof is that we only stayed the one night. If I had known before what I know now we would've definitely stayed at least another night, or more. Everything about the place was just perfect, warm friendly welcome, great room with all facilities, great breakfast etc etc need I say more! And if you do stay here I would also recommend Sabines restaurant which is also in Swellendam...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMBrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Midway between Cape Town and Knysna this hotel offer the ideal South African hospitality experience. Our room was exceptionally large with every facility while there was an unlimited breakfast choice. Our hosts were so helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Last week we stayed at De Kloof for 2 nights in a Deluxe Suite. It was a wonderful stay. Everything was so well organized and we felt very welcome. Upon arrival we were checked in by the owners themselves Marjolein and Roy. They offered us a nice welcome cocktail while explaining the ins and outs of the Estate.
Our room was excellent; spacious, luxurious, a little terrace and a extended bathroom with seperate bath and shower.
Everything in the room was beautiful decorated and detailed. Fresh flowers, wel stocked fridge, complimentary coffee,tea, water and a bottle of red wine. Satellite TV, WIFI. Book with information for trips in the area. Even extra massage pillows.
The bathroom had a lot of amenities, towel heater, candles and bath salt next to the bath.
The bed, pillows and duvets were excellent. We slept like baby's.
Marjolein and Roy invited us and the other guests for a complimentary wine tasting with tapas in the comfortable big livingroom in the Manor House. That was such a nice and cosy thing to do, all of us sitting next tot the open fire tasting the wines. Marjolein explained about the wines from the Robertson Wine Valley. Yes they are great hosts and really enjoy talking with their guests and make them feel at home.
We had dinner in the village Swellendam and Marjolein had several suggestions for restaurants. She made the reservation and arranged transportation so you can enjoy all the good wines from the valley.
Breakfast is served al la carte. Even the menus are nicely decorated all different but in the same elegant style. The lovely smiling and friendly staff served a breakfast to good to be true. A glass of the Blush Bubbles made it complete.
De Kloof Estate is beautiful. It is decorated so well and very elegant. There
is a nice swimmingpool with deckchairs, a Gym, a putting green. A lovely secret garden where you sit around a little pond with koi swimming around. Nice terraces.
De Kloof and its surroundings offers you a lot. When we made the reservation they sent us already a very complete 5 full day Highlight Tour Program, with lots of things to do.
Therefore our 2 night stay was too short to enjoy everything of De Kloof and its surroundings. So we will definitely come back for another much longer stay. Next time we will relax and enjoy the pool, the terraces, the gym, the garden, the afternoon tea, ect ect..
The most amazing thing was that on the day of departure our rental car was washed in the early morning so we left De Kloof in a shiny clean car. This was complimentary and what a nice gesture.
Marjolein and Roy thank you very much for making our stay such a Great Experience, a Real Five-Star Experience.
We are looking forward to our next stay at De Kloof Estate.
Best Regards Guus-Jan and Cornelia de Groot.

Room Tip: We had an Deluxe Suite which is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grootaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The glorious Langerberg mountain range, the property's history as well as 5 star accommodation and comfort make De Kloof Estate a truly unique and idyllic setting.
We were warmly welcomed by Marjolein after a long day on the road and were then checked into our suite. With the freezing winter weather, it was an absolute treat to enter into a warm, cosy room with all the necessary amenities one requires for a comfortable evening. Our stay was unfortunately a short one and so we will definitely be back to experience more of what De Kloof has to offer. With this type of setting, super staff and attention to details this makes for an absolute must in one of South Africa's prettiest towns!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ZaneandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
536 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel

Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $148 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing