We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Garden Route stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Midway between Cape Town and Knysna this hotel offer the ideal South African hospitality experience. Our room was exceptionally large with every facility while there was an unlimited breakfast choice. Our hosts were so helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Last week we stayed at De Kloof for 2 nights in a Deluxe Suite. It was a wonderful stay. Everything was so well organized and we felt very welcome. Upon arrival we were checked in by the owners themselves Marjolein and Roy. They offered us a nice welcome cocktail while explaining the ins and outs of the Estate.
Our room was excellent; spacious, luxurious, a little terrace and a extended bathroom with seperate bath and shower.
Everything in the room was beautiful decorated and detailed. Fresh flowers, wel stocked fridge, complimentary coffee,tea, water and a bottle of red wine. Satellite TV, WIFI. Book with information for trips in the area. Even extra massage pillows.
The bathroom had a lot of amenities, towel heater, candles and bath salt next to the bath.
The bed, pillows and duvets were excellent. We slept like baby's.
Marjolein and Roy invited us and the other guests for a complimentary wine tasting with tapas in the comfortable big livingroom in the Manor House. That was such a nice and cosy thing to do, all of us sitting next tot the open fire tasting the wines. Marjolein explained about the wines from the Robertson Wine Valley. Yes they are great hosts and really enjoy talking with their guests and make them feel at home.
We had dinner in the village Swellendam and Marjolein had several suggestions for restaurants. She made the reservation and arranged transportation so you can enjoy all the good wines from the valley.
Breakfast is served al la carte. Even the menus are nicely decorated all different but in the same elegant style. The lovely smiling and friendly staff served a breakfast to good to be true. A glass of the Blush Bubbles made it complete.
De Kloof Estate is beautiful. It is decorated so well and very elegant. There
is a nice swimmingpool with deckchairs, a Gym, a putting green. A lovely secret garden where you sit around a little pond with koi swimming around. Nice terraces.
De Kloof and its surroundings offers you a lot. When we made the reservation they sent us already a very complete 5 full day Highlight Tour Program, with lots of things to do.
Therefore our 2 night stay was too short to enjoy everything of De Kloof and its surroundings. So we will definitely come back for another much longer stay. Next time we will relax and enjoy the pool, the terraces, the gym, the garden, the afternoon tea, ect ect..
The most amazing thing was that on the day of departure our rental car was washed in the early morning so we left De Kloof in a shiny clean car. This was complimentary and what a nice gesture.
Marjolein and Roy thank you very much for making our stay such a Great Experience, a Real Five-Star Experience.
We are looking forward to our next stay at De Kloof Estate.
Best Regards Guus-Jan and Cornelia de Groot.

Room Tip: We had an Deluxe Suite which is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grootaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The glorious Langerberg mountain range, the property's history as well as 5 star accommodation and comfort make De Kloof Estate a truly unique and idyllic setting.
We were warmly welcomed by Marjolein after a long day on the road and were then checked into our suite. With the freezing winter weather, it was an absolute treat to enter into a warm, cosy room with all the necessary amenities one requires for a comfortable evening. Our stay was unfortunately a short one and so we will definitely be back to experience more of what De Kloof has to offer. With this type of setting, super staff and attention to details this makes for an absolute must in one of South Africa's prettiest towns!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ZaneandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I have visited De Kloof several times, and since our last visit it now has a very good restaurant. We spent 2 nights there in April and really enjoyed our stay. They also now have a very nice residents' lounge, which is also an added bonus since our last visit. Roy & Marjolein are wonderful hosts and are extremely attentive to their guests, without being intrusive, and will do anything to make a visit to De Kloof very special. We would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Swellendam.

Room Tip: Difficult to choose - all the rooms and suites are wonderful and beautifully appointed. The locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived at De Kloof shortly after midday and were warmly greeted, however, when we asked about something to eat we were informed that the chef had not arrived but that there were a number of places where we could eat in the town. We checked in and were shown to our rooms all of which were ready! First impressions were good. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The disappointment came at dinner. The food was very nice but nothing stunning. Our second bottle of wine was definitely corked and undrinkable. It was returned to the young waitress but at no time were we offered a replacement. In fact nothing was done about the wine at the time. It was discussed later on after the meal by two of our party with Marjolein. It was clearly obvious that there were staffing problems in the kitchen with Marjolein herself doing the cooking. Service during the meal was poor as the young waitress was inexperienced, which had been explained at the start of the meal by Marjolein, and she (the waitress) was on her own. Breakfast had an extensive menu. We had been informed that there would be "bubbles" at breakfast, however they were neither mentioned nor produced. The food was well presented and nice. We agree with the previous reviewer that this place is not worthy of five stars going by our experience. We doubt very much if we would return and therefore did NOT write any comments in the guest book.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emwni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at De Kloof a few years ago for a much needed long weekend and was enthralled by their attention to detail, delicious food and accomodation. On the way back to Cape Town over the Easter weekend this year, my daughter was feeling ill and the weather had turned rather cold. We stopped in at De Kloof hoping to break our journey and hopefully stay overnight. Unfortunetly there were no rooms available but we were invited to relax and take a load off. We sat in front of the fire and warmed up and sipped on warm beverages which the owner Roy refused to charge for. When we left about half an hour later we felt rejuvenated enought to make the trip home. A surprise stop for us turned into a reminder that we must return to De Kloof as soon as possible. A big thank you to Roy and Marjolein for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst en route to Kynsna. Whilst we were warmly greated and were looking forward to having some tapas for lunch as suggested in a previous e-mail we were told that the chef had not yet arrived and were directed to the town to eat. Not what we expected of a 5 star establishment. Invited to dine in that evening and the complimentary wine tasting was a nice touch. However there was no choice of menu, although the food as presented was enjoyable. Second bottle of wine wine corked and had difficulty in getting this addressed. Lack of attention at dinner let it down. Rooms were comfortable but regretfully we would probably try somewhere else if returning to Swellendam in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acbNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekloof, Manager at De Kloof Luxury Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

The group of six adults arrived far before midday and as the rooms were not ready yet the choice is :whether to stay and wait ( eat/drink) or alternatively to go and explore the beautiful town by feet . The manager informed guests what to see and do in town and mentioned as well about the available lunch options while being there.
This does not mean that they could not get a lunch at the estate !.
The all day light lunch/snack menu and dinner menu (4 course set )is clearly stated on top of the reception counter and is shown to guests upon check in. The guest asked a few weeks prior to arrival whether dinner was possible in the first place and the manager emailed a sample 4 course set menu and guests agreed to join in, aware that it is not an a la carte dinner facility.
The "corked" wine was taken away and offered to replace with a new one and was taken of the bill.
De Kloof Luxury Estate is not a fully licensed restaurant and therefor offers only light meals and a set dinner -for inhouse guests only-, guests do have a choice to stay in or alternatively go into town
We really regret to read that guesst might opt for another option next time which -as well - contradicts with what has been written in the guestbook .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
17.6 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
628 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#14 of 40 in Swellendam
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate

Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $182 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing