We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues with 5 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Kloof Luxury Estate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some issues with 5 star rating”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst en route to Kynsna. Whilst we were warmly greated and were looking forward to having some tapas for lunch as suggested in a previous e-mail we were told that the chef had not yet arrived and were directed to the town to eat. Not what we expected of a 5 star establishment. Invited to dine in that evening and the complimentary wine tasting was a nice touch. However there was no choice of menu, although the food as presented was enjoyable. Second bottle of wine wine corked and had difficulty in getting this addressed. Lack of attention at dinner let it down. Rooms were comfortable but regretfully we would probably try somewhere else if returning to Swellendam in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acbNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekloof, Manager at De Kloof Luxury Estate, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
The group of six adults arrived far before midday and as the rooms were not ready yet the choice is :whether to stay and wait ( eat/drink) or alternatively to go and explore the beautiful town by feet . The manager informed guests what to see and do in town and mentioned as well about the available lunch options while being there.
This does not mean that they could not get a lunch at the estate !.
The all day light lunch/snack menu and dinner menu (4 course set )is clearly stated on top of the reception counter and is shown to guests upon check in. The guest asked a few weeks prior to arrival whether dinner was possible in the first place and the manager emailed a sample 4 course set menu and guests agreed to join in, aware that it is not an a la carte dinner facility.
The "corked" wine was taken away and offered to replace with a new one and was taken of the bill.
De Kloof Luxury Estate is not a fully licensed restaurant and therefor offers only light meals and a set dinner -for inhouse guests only-, guests do have a choice to stay in or alternatively go into town
We really regret to read that guesst might opt for another option next time which -as well - contradicts with what has been written in the guestbook .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
178
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a great stay in De Kloof Luxury Estate. It's situated just off the main road of Swellendam, but still within easy walking distance. The main house is an old Cape Dutch building, from the beginning 1800, very beautiful ! The rooms were comfortable and spacious with all the comfort you need. In the main building there was a fast Wi-Fi available free of charge, which was great for us as we had to so some business emails. The breakfast was very surprising and lovely. Very fresh and tasteful ! We had a great time and will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickiew
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

From the moment you arrive at this lovely hotel you relax. The rooms are truly luxurious and the staff welcoming and efficient. I could not recommend this place more highly

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The main house is one of the oldest Cape Dutch Houses in Swellendam.
Our charming hosts have put a labour of love into their estate.
This has to be the top place to stay in town.
Luxury furnishings in all rooms both public and bed and bathrooms.
Their is a magnificent pool area with glorious views of the Langerberg Mountains.
The gardens are packed full of lovely trees, shrubs and flowering plants.
There is a small golf driving range with a putting green. unfortunately when we were there it was 40c a bit hot for golf!
Good breakfasts nicely presented are served and you can have a 3 course evening meal or a Sushi /Tapas platter if preferable.
We enjoyed 2 complimentary Robertson Valley wine tastings pre dinner.Maartin a Dutch Uni student studying Hotel Mangement gave a comprehensive commentary on the wines.
His girlfriend also a Hotel Management student cooked the excellent food.
This is a luxury place to stay and we enjoyed it immensly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The De Kloof Luxury Estate is a really great place to stay. It ticked all the boxes for us – clean and well furnished accommodation, great service and good food. As a bonus, there was some complimentary pre dinner wine tasting – a very pleasant experience.

The Guest House is in a quiet, pleasant location, but within easy walking distance of the town centre, so if you wanted to eat out, no need to drive. Our hosts were highly attentive, providing us with a welcome drink and ensuring all our needs were met. Although there were no choices on the dinner menu, again our hosts made certain that there was nothing on the menu that we didn’t like before we committed to eat there. We enjoyed our dinner, and a Dutch couple we got talking to described it as ‘typical Dutch’. I’m sure that was intended as a compliment!

The accommodation was of a good standard, with a massive bathroom (about the same size as the bedroom!). It had aircon (needed in January!) and a very comfortable bed. It also had complimentary wifi.

On our check out morning, we were permitted to leave our car in the car park while we wandered around the town. Again, our hosts offered to pick us up if we got too tired to walk back up the hill in the heat (it was around 35C!) to the guest house. This wasn’t necessary, but was a nice gesture.

Would we stay here again? Definitely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We expected to find a perfect guesthouse and we got it !! When you are in Swellendam or surrounding stay in De Kloof and have a great time .

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinenirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived after a nice drive and must say that the service and facilities are absolutely of the highest standard. This is a hotel I dare to recommend to all the people who love to have quality service when on holidays. Great experience and absolutely looking forward to visit again but than for 1 or 2 days longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
67 reviews
17.6 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kloof Luxury Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kloof Luxury Estate

Property: De Kloof Luxury Estate
Address: 8 Weltevrede Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Kloof Luxury Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star boutique hotel& Villa & SPA -Member of best Boutique Hotels of the World Often described as the Jewel and Grand Dame of Swellendam- Western Cape -South Africa -where history meets trends with unique interior decor. Hotel offers spacious rooms & suites all with free WIFI ,large designer bathrooms,extra length beds and climate control. high teas, breakfast, lunches and evening fusion tasting dinners and a la carte dinners served in Restaurant 18 Zero One ,large pool with breathtaking views. Spa for beauty and massage treatments with award award winning products and services. Dam with geese and ducks, several secluded gardens and koi ponds Grand Suite with waterbed, jacuzzi and fireplace as well 2 bedroom family Suites available. A true Oasis and hidden gem on superb quiet large grounds walking distance from historical heart of village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your De Kloof Luxury Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kloof Luxury Estate Swellendam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing