We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking”

Marloth Nature Reserve
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildflowers, majestic mountain views, many hiking trails and rare birds and animals grace this sprawling national park.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiking”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The trails are lovely but not at all well marked. We wanted to climb Tienuur but did not find the sign to make the correct turn.
There are footprints where the path is easy but none where needed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Marloth Nature Reserve, Montagu, Overberg”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

In January I was meeting a client in Montagu, Overberg.

Montegu is a pretty town in places - in others it has been thoroughly spoilt by allowing new buildings that are out of keeping with the main 18th and 19 Century cottages and farm buildings that are dotted along the main road in. After my meeting, I went on a little drive around, and by accident came across the Marloth Nature Reserve.
There is parking outside the entrance, but there's broken glass too so beware if you are barefoot of have pets - children included!

There is no kiosk or hut to pay at - just an honesty box concreted into a very thick and elderly wall! It is a great place to go to if you want some idea what the local indigenous plants look like - they are all labelled so you know what to ask for at the local nurseries. But the reserve is poorly sign posted, and you could drive past without realising what a treasure you are missing out on.

There are trails and paths that are well marked and signed, but no guide I could find to see where they went. It was not until I was home and looked it up on the internet I realised the Reserve is HUGE! Look it up on any map, and you can see it extends from Montagu all the way past and around Swellendam!

There is a really sweet thatched cottage in the gardens in the Montagu part that is just crying out to be turned into a B&B in a National Park, or as a place to buy food - 'Marloth Deli' springs to mind! With some advertising, marketing and better signs and directions, it could become another Haverfords (Stanford) or Moggs (Hemel-in-Arden Valley) - you can see my reviews on these places too.

Weaver birds have set up home in the trees and you can get very close up to see how adept they are in putting their nests together.

If I am in Montagu again, I will definitely go for a longer stroll again, on a cooler day too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Different workouts available”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely trail up to a quite tiny waterfall. Should you want a short workout shoot up the trail, which will take you about 35 minutes. Almost completely covered by trees.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bee277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amazing place! We went back a second time. Lovely walks to the waterfall and great for the whole family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElandaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“maintenance”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unfortunately the place requires urgent maintenance to the foot paths and wooden cabins. Still a beautiful place though!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael19660619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marloth Nature Reserve also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Marloth Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing