We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at De Companje”
Review of De Companjie

De Companjie
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the picturesque town of Swellendam, a national heritage building dating back to 1834 is the venue of our ownermanaged cafe-styled restaurant producing fine local cuisine. Locally produced quality ingredients are used along our free range beef and venison from our Kalahari farm that is our flagship. Enjoy homemade cocktails, local boutique wines and finely prepared meals on our stoep this summer whilst soaking up the best of country life. Enjoy a fine glass of bubbly or cocktail with a cheese platter in our Secret Courtyard Hibiscus Bar.
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at De Companje”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the best meal we had on our three week trip in South Africa. A really pleasant evening in an old house in Swellendam. The food was excellent - original and very tasty. Our host was helpful and accommodating. Despite the fact there was no alcohol licence we were able to order a good white wine (profits went to a local charity).thoroughly recommended by all three of us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCPM3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    28
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious food, but oh, the wait...”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Glowing reviews on Tripadvisor set the expectations high. The atmosphere of the restored house with yellowwood beams creates a lovely ambience. The service was very friendly but equally slow, the food delicious when it did arrive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely food and the service was friendly and efficient and very well priced. Liked the idea of the money from the bottle of wine going to a local charity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped for a night in Swellendam back in January, it was Sunday and weren't expecting much to be open and it was great that De Companjie was! We had an excellent meal, perfect steaks and fantastic desserts! They donate the cost of a bottle of wine to a local centre that cares for deserted babies, if I only could drink more I would have :) ! Such an amazing thing to do for the local community!

Highly recommended!
Cheers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A memorable place”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Dinner was just wonderful; fresh delicious food served by caring waiters; small menu but perfecto offerings - absolutely wonderful beef and delicious vegetables. All around perfect dinner in a perfect setting. Looking forward to next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PenalopeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Companjie also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Companjie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing