We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For sure one of the top 3 restaurants in Swellendam!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Companjie

De Companjie
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: African, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the picturesque town of Swellendam, a national heritage building dating back to 1834 is the venue of our ownermanaged cafe-styled restaurant producing fine local cuisine. Locally produced quality ingredients are used along our free range beef and venison from our Kalahari farm that is our flagship. Enjoy homemade cocktails, local boutique wines and finely prepared meals on our stoep this summer whilst soaking up the best of country life. Enjoy a fine glass of bubbly or cocktail with a cheese platter in our Secret Courtyard Hibiscus Bar.
Skarhamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For sure one of the top 3 restaurants in Swellendam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Focusing on a meny with 3-4 main courses and pre-course and deserts immediately signals quality and this is also what you get. The staff is very service minded and without hesitation they make a special order with only pasta for my daughter (25 ZAR very reasonable).

The special wine offer with one bottle 150 ZAR and the most of it is charity to a local school.

We had fish, kudu and beef. All very taste and well made.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henke_Fredde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    28
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herdecke, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited the restaurant without knowing it. The served beef filet was excellent in taste for a very good price. Unfortunately, the ordered wine and other drinks did not come even after asking for it.
My wife was still eating and we suddenly had the bill on the table.....no chance getting a desert or coffee. It is a pity to have eaten superb in a very nice ambiente, but the service during our visit definitely did not reflect the sophistication of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basti2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fortuitous find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We decided that we were in the mood for a Sunday lunch, and Swellendam seemed like a good destination. Before leaving, I checked tripadvisor, and noted the 3 top ranked restaurants. What I didn't do was to check if any of them were open on a Sunday, so arrived to find that they were all closed.

While driving past, I had noticed a sign advertising home cooked, "boere-kos" lunch at this restaurant, so decided to see what they were offering. I was so glad that we did. They had a set menu, with a small buffet style table of really tasty dishes, at a very reasonable price. Atmosphere was warm and welcoming, with personal service from the owners adding that special touch. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Random lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped off at swellendam for lunch and selected this cute little restaurant at random. What a choice! The welcome is a warm as it is possible to be. We had Sunday lunch which was all home made traditional fare and all of it was excellent from the home baked bread and duck liver pate through to the orange pudding. Wine was also very good and all for R135 each. Splendid.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresnaye, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for Friday boerekos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

South Africans will enjoy this as it is best and most tender steak on the whole planet. Jacques is the proud farmer of his organic beef. I hear it has turned more than one vegetarian into a fillet lover!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Companjie also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Companjie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing