We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mattsens Pizza Steakhouse - CLOSED

Mattsens Pizza Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and lovely owners but a bit of a long wait for our food. Unfortunately the Schnitzel wasn't as good as others I'd had in the past - very average. Would rather try lunch there on our next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Really nice food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were here last night and it was very nice. They told us it is cheap and only local food. But the menu card was big and offered a big choice. We choose the boboti, because we want to taste a real boboti :). And it was delicous. It was a lot and it was really worth the money we paid for it.
As desert we were choosing for the baked cheesecake. Wauw, it was delicious. After our meal we were really filled and couldn't eat anything the whole evening. Really nice for such a small restaurant.
Service was good, they were working very fast. Pretty people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jupdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too Long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went there for dinner, but because we waited so long just to order, we changed our preferences to pizza. Even so, we waited a very long time. We have traveled on 5 continents and this was the longest we ever had to wait for service. We would have walked out, but we had just arrived in town in the dark and did not know where else to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Feeling like something special I decided to treat myself to a meal at Mattsen's. I ordered the ribs and wow what a plate ful and delicious. Thank you Mattsen's for an enjoyable meal and a great venue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauveen350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We ate at the restaurant on a lovely autumn night. We sat outside under the trees with a lantern giving light. Great atmosphere! The staff was friendly and service was fast. The food was great and the portions huge. My husband loved the ostrich burger and I enjoyed my grilled chicken burger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mattsens Pizza Steakhouse also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing