We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arumvale Country House
Ranked #5 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
charente
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are in two minds about Arumvale. The location is stunning with cows coming to say hello at your back door, and wonderful views of the mountains. We booked the rustic cottage via Booking.com, which worked fine except the site says there is breakfast for another 100 SAR per person, unfortunately when we asked the time for breakfast we were told there isn't any. The bed and quality of the linen is first rate and we had a great night's sleep. There is tea and coffee making facilities so that was ok. However the rustic cottage is just that, and the main house doesn't seem to have a guest's lounge. it maybe the house rooms are better in terms of space. George was brilliant when we left giving us loads of pointers for the next day, we tried them all, and the Malagas ferry is a MUST! I wouldn't want to deter anybody from staying here as the location is stunning and George is a great guide, just remember it is definitely self catering. By the way the wifi never worked during our stay, a router problem according to the lap top.

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    106
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
208
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wow , this was truely one of the most amazing places I have stayed ! Set in a beautiful setting ! fantastic experience .Our room was spacious and conformatable and decorated in great style ! We will definetly be back again in the new year ! Thank you so much !


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick & Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had an amazing stay at Arumvale in the Samantha cottage. It was equipped with everything and more. Beautifully finished off with amazing views. The only bad thing was that we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tanyav1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I did choose for a nice suite, so that is my experience
They call it "Panorama-suite" he what can i tell? Its the truth, it is
a very panoramic suite, man alive!
Breakfast nice, staff nice, next visit to the Cape ill go here
Also got your own transmitter for the automatic doors to the parkplace etc etc

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

When you find a place that matches the description and photos that were found on the website, you know that you have found a place that you can come back to. Intimate, comfortable, with everything that you need from a self-catering facility and more! (coffee, tea, fresh milk and sugar, towels etc) The staff were welcoming and very helpful and we were made to feel at home. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elsabe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The cottage was there, just waiting us to come. The bbq on the balcony was just ready to be lighted on. Same the fireplace in the lovely living room. And George is the man who could advise us unbelievable places to go, that our travel guide didn't know about at all ...
Just perfect !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were so lucky to stay here twice this year.
Both our stays have been just so memorable and awersome.
From booking to arriving accomadatingwell looked after and cared for. Such amazing owners and wonderful staff.
Clean and Beautiful lodge well kept with everything we needed magic fire place works amazing .
Daily services were so consitant and our braai area over looking the valley always ready for us .You realy mad us feel specail.so accomadating towards us.

We will most definitely be coming back it is almost like home just much better.
SO PEACEFUL and TRANQUIL.

Thanks George and your team.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyhead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumvale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumvale Country House

Property: Arumvale Country House
Address: Bethel Street | Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumvale Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumvale Country House provides well appointed, self-catering facilities and friendly, professional service. Situated in Swellendam's beautiful Hermitage Valley, which is a three kilometer walk or drive from Swellendam's historic town centre. Arumvale has three luxury, self-catering suites, one standard suite and a rustic garden cottage within a beautiful garden & countryside setting. Each suite has a large bedroom, en-suite bathroom, a themed lounge, kitchenette, private patio and separate entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arumvale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing