We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildebraam Berry Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This working farm is great value for money if you enjoy old world type places as I do. The small cotages, roses and mountain views are breathtaking. Fantastic products from the farm are available to purchase. Stafare very helpful and friendly. Will go back soon again just to relax.

Room Tip: The staff will tell you what your options are as the cottages are differnt sizes and prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Berry Cottage! The atmosphere was absolutely idyllic and made us wish that we could stay longer.
The cottage was so well kitted out (and extremely neat), that we found we really did only need to take our food and clothes.
The berry picking was a treat and made the feel of the stay all the more "original".
Thank you Kat for making the service experience a brilliant one from the moment I inquired to the point where we checked out.
Wildebraam berry estate is definitely becoming a regular destination for us!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 776WMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We would like to congratulate and thank you for making the Swich ladies' Christmas outing such an elegant and memorable occasion. Kat pulled out all the stops which, together with the stunning view and amazing facilities made for a morning that we will long remember. The service was superb, the berries delicious, and the syrups over the icecream could not be better! As it was a morning occasion we did not taste the liqueurs or jams but heard others remarking on their excellence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

me and my husband stayed in the river cottage and I fell inlove with the place.the cottage is very well equipped and we only needed to take our food and clothes with.the open plan kitchen and lounge with a inside fire place was just perfect.we loved the silence and the nice view we had outside.the cottage is more private than the others and we loved it,i would definitely recommend wildebraam estate to anyone for a weekend or week away.we will surely go back in the future.it was really heavenly to be there!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to taste the best products made on the premises and great value for money. With beautiful surroundings. It's perfect for families, couples or just to stock up on their delicious offerings...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MoonComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in the Berry Cottage, a very comfortable cottage with everything needed for self catering. Beautiful mountain view from the cottage with braai facilities on the large patio. Kathryn was very friendly who went out of her way to make my partner's birthday something special. The liqueur - & jam tasting is a must as well as wandering with the horses. A quiet place to relax which will be great for kids as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2westernboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were a group of 12 PAX to visit Wildebraam during June 2013. The group was seated around a table and approximately 7-8 products were displayed in front of us including some of the Jams, deli products, chilli products and Liqueurs. An informal talk about the Berry Farm was given and the products were explained to us and were tasted afterword’s. After the talk, we could buy the products from the shop. The tasting session last for approximately an hour and the cost for the tasting was R10pp. It was an enjoyable learning experience. We can recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
9.0 mi away
AfriCamps at Kam'Bati
AfriCamps at Kam'Bati
#7 of 26 in Swellendam
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.0 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebraam Berry Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebraam Berry Estate

Address: S4 Hermitage Valley, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebraam Berry Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildebraam offers several lovely units on a youngberry farm in Swellendam. Nestled in the Hermitage Valley, 2 km from Swellendam, all the units enjoy stunning views of the Langeberg Mountains and guests will revel in the tranquil country atmosphere. All units are fully equipped with towels and linen provided. Games and books are also provided.A minimum 2- night stay over weekends is preferred when booking the larger cottages. Wildebraam is renowned for its liqueurs and deli range produced on site and all guests are welcome to join us for tastings in our cellar Mon-Sat. In addition, Wildebraam has a conference/function venue which can host up to 64 people and both corporate and private functions are very popular.ACTIVITIES: Liqueur & deli tasting at Wildebraam Cellar, horse riding by own appointment with DEE HAZELL, birding, hiking in surrounds or in Marloth Nature Reserve (1.5km), mountain biking and berry picking (in season). A 9-hole golf course is 1.5km away and various sport clubs are in Swellendam. Little ones (and older ones!) will love Sulina’s Fairy Sanctuary and Swellendam also has several art galleries and local potters and artists. Well worth visits could include the local Drostdy museum, Bontebok National Park, De Hoop Nature Reserve, Robertson Wine Route-just to mention a few. There are also lovely day trips into the countryside including Barrydale, Montagu, Robertson, Malgas and Arniston. BUT, most of all, lots of RELAXING!! Wine tasting and country meandering are the order of the day.We look forward to sharing our "berried treasure" with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wildebraam Berry Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing