We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elianthe's Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We can really recommend this place. The owners are very friendly and the rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the swimming pool which is very nice. The guesthouse is centrally located close to some good restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinandsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne23, Manager at Elianthe's Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope we get to meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    54
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
58
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I have had the privilege of staying at Elianthe's Guest House in Swellendam (South Africa's third oldest town Est. in 1745)on route to Cape Town from George on a few occasions now and have found the accommodation to be of a very high standard. The host Elize is always available and nothing is to much of a problem for her

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank brentonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne23, Owner at Elianthe's Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We thank you for your review. Always nice to have returning visitors. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards - Cliff and Elize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flußbach
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My mother and I stayed in this B&B on our Garden Route Trip. The hosts were very nice and our room was large. The breakfast was not included, but is was cheap and very good.
We can fully recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 599LisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed an over night with my 2 grownup children (18 and 14), the building is old and has a certain charm to it. The rooms are comfortable and clean, great beds and big shower rooms. The surrounding garden and pool are really nice and very well kept.
Alice the owner is very nice and helped us with great recommendations for the local attractions.
One attraction you do not want to miss is the near by restaurant (50 meters), the best we had in South Africa so far - Koornlands do not miss it, its $$ price but worth it.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Elianthe's Guesthouse while on a 6-day MTB ride from Paarl to Knysna. The pool was very welcome after a hot, long day in the saddle. And the accommodation was clean and comfortable but certainly not luxurious - perfect for our requirements

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 38 in Swellendam
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 38 in Swellendam
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elianthe's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elianthe's Guesthouse

Property: Elianthe's Guesthouse
Address: 184 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elianthe's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old charming Victorian house, build in 1840 and today a national monument, will make every guest feel at home. Each room is decorated with taste and elegance. Beds are made up with white linen of good quality. Coffee/tea tray is in each room available with homemade rusks. Some rooms have a bar fridge available. Each room has a ensuite bathroom with a shower. (One of the rooms have a bath) Camping cots is on request. One can lounge at the big, sparkling swimming pool; relax in the serene garden or enjoy the calmness on the terrace or front porch. The guesthouse is situated close to many restaurants and attractions, which makes it ideal for travellers. There are many things to do in and around Swellendam and your hostess will assist you in making the right decision for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elianthe's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing