We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Hilltop Country Retreat
Ranked #10 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Worth the time”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The stay was excellent. Quite surroundings of nature & a country life style. Would recommend to all who just wants the get away from a busy schedule in a relaxing environment. Just remember if you want the fireplace in the room let them know prior. The decor is fantastic old mixed with modern really a picture perfect setting.

Room Tip: Family rooms have internal fire places for those cold comfy nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    31
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If a hilltop country retreat was a hotel it would be fantastic, but it doesn't quite work as self-catering accommodation. The kitchen is well equipped (in terms of utensils) but tiny, making it tricky to cook properly.
Having booked a family unit we didn't expect all the beds to be in one room. I wouldn't mind the open plan design for a couples weekend away but it doesn't work for a family.
Having said that, the unit is beautifully appointed and the service was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shivani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely spacious room, but when I book a double room I don't want spare beds in the room. Also, we were offered breakfast, in the room or on the patio, at R60 per person. What was not made clear was that this was for the ingredients for breakfast, which you then had to cook yourself. Eggs, bacon, four slices if bread, two very bad quality tomatoes, some very unappetizing fruit and two small cartons of juice. For that price we could have had somebody else cook us a breakfast with more Imaginative ingredients.

However, the room had a lovely fire. Unfortunately the seating was hugely uncomfortable. I didn't thing we'll go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1marbil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a gem in a magical little town. We loved our family getaway. Travelling with a toddler has its challenges but A Hilltop Retreat had ample space and an open patio to keep our little one entertained. They even give you access to an array of dvds for those cold winter nights. Our room had a fireplace which was a bonus. The hosts went out of their way to make us comfortable, even booking us for a fabulous dinner at a local hotspot. The rooms are modern with every amenity taken care of. We loved it here!

Room Tip: The family suites have baths and showers as well as fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely break last weekend. Relaxing and top class.
Friendly Jane took great care of all our needs and fluffy friendly George the cat was a welcome visitor who we wanted to take home! Felt like a home from home in utter luxury.
The beds were super comfy, with high quality touches, well-equipped and great value for money on the breakfasts too.
We loved visiting and would definitely recommend as a Swellendam accommodation stop.
The only possible negative was the sound of the rooster providing an early wake up when we wanted to lie in (but out of control of this fine establishment!) and perhaps needing to reset the wifi because although connecting, with the password we weren't able to download anything or get online.
Please keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a fabulous time at Hilltop Country Retreat. Great welcome, nice extra's like firewood, matches, Blitz, tea, coffee, rusks, warm water bottles and sherry on the house. It's the little extras that make a place and create memories. Well equiped kitchen, modern bathroom with large shower, huge king size bed and nice fireplace in our room. Very cozy. Enjoyed it thouroughly.

Room Tip: We chose the one with the fireplace. Think it was number 3. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marthe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay here. We had a wonderful welcome and they plot all the places we could visit in Swellendam. The room is fantastic, spacious with a great kitchen ! The bed, linen, cushions towels and cleaning of the room were five-star ! The fact that there is no DSTV channels was a little disappointing, we had to go into town to watch the rugby ! Keep in mind thet we were visiting in July, it was very chilly at night and in the mornings, as there is no heater in the room ( you are not always in the mood to make fire through the day - at R20 a bundle it could get costy ! ) it was very COLD to get dressed ! As it was full-house there was definitely a problem with hot water, two nights in a row one of us had no hot water to bath or shower. As it is a four-star rating they have to look into this small problems in winter time, then we will definitely return !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzette2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.3 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#14 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Augusta de Mist Country House
Augusta de Mist Country House
#30 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hilltop Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hilltop Country Retreat

Property: A Hilltop Country Retreat
Address: 7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Hilltop Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star luxury self-catering accommodation on a superb location. A Hilltop Country Retreat is located in the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, yet close to the town centre, where you get the best of both worlds ... 360' views and no traffic. A Hilltop Country Retreat offers a complete experience far superior to that of a mere stop-over. Our rooms are spacious and luxurious featuring finishes and furniture made by local entrepreneurs and artists. The delightful calabash radios, created by South African artist Soloman, are just one of the beautiful, unique and mostly handmade elements we have chosen to enrich your stay. Our accommodation offers great value for money. All the rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and fully equipped self-catering kitchens. You can dine inside or on the patio while enjoying the magnificent and inspiring view of the Langeberg Mountains and the town below. Pick some fresh herbs from our garden to prepare your own special meal or dine out at one of the many exquisite restaurants Swellendam has to offer. Here you can relax and unwind surrounded by breathtaking landscapes in a restful environment far from the hustle and bustle, but convenient to Swellendam's many attractions. A Hilltop Country Retreat treats you to high standards of hospitality throughout, but it's also a great base for trips and excursions. Book today, and come and experience the delights A Hilltop Country Retreat has to offer. We offer guests the option of a fully stocked fridge for breakfast, so you can enjoy your morning meal in the privacy of your own room or patio whenever it suits you. Breakfast includes: bacon, eggs, tomato, toast, butter, jam, muesli, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea, sugar, milk and a variety of fruit. **DSTV now available in all the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Hilltop Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing