We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer clear of the 'light lunches', and rather give the cakes a try.”
Review of Oppi Stoep

Oppi Stoep
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Coffee shop
Garden Route
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steer clear of the 'light lunches', and rather give the cakes a try.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for a 'light lunch'. The Chicken Schnitzel and Spinach and feta options were a disaster. In essence the meals were frozen meals popped into the oven or skillet when we ordered. I have never had such a tough chicken schnitzel before. Thankfully the salad was fresh and diverse. IF you have no other option, stick to the cakes and hot drinks instead, and try some of the other resturants for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naturewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Celebrating pinkness”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Oppi Stoep is a good stop for a light lunch and will particularly appeal to those who share the delightful owner's love of all things pink. The salads we had - chicken and Greek - were absolutely fine although slightly let down by the supermarket bread and dressings out of a bottle that accompanied them. Lunch ended on another pink note with the bill in a pink box.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious cafe stop”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stopped here for a delicious lunch on our way to Stellenbosch. We could sit outside and take in the lovely atmosphere of the town. Very highly recommended food and ambiance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best cake in Swellendam”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If it's baked goods you want, look no further!
The waffles are too crisp & thin so I ordered the lemon meringue thereafter. It was perfect and so was my husbands' apple pie.
They do amazing & fresh light lunches too. A definite worth while stop with its refreshing outdoor seating area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faseegah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wafalicious waffels!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family had wonderful waffels- beautifully presented and a chocolate muffin- very tasty under the trees. Quiet setting. Good service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppi Stoep also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Oppi Stoep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing