We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Inspiration Abundance"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Field & Fork

Field & Fork
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Field & Fork derives its name from the culinary vision of bringing locally sourced quality produce from the field to your table. Chef and owner Francois du Rand, serves these ingredients with a great passion for food and a dash of French flair. Field & Fork is located in Swellendam's heritage area and forms part of the Drostdy Museum. Steeped in history and oozing character, this restaurant brings you modern style bistro food with panache.The menu is small and changes often but caters for all palates.Our wines as our food, are only sourced locally from award winning wineries. Welcome to the Field & Fork. Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays from 6pm for dinner service.
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Inspiration Abundance"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

10 meals at F&F and NO disappointment!  Quality food, perfect presentation, consistent service, best creme brulee!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Servaas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    121
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another good restaurant in a restored Drostdy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We dined at a warm night at the balcony with a nice breeze at this nicely restored Drostdy restaurant. Good and quick service. One of the better places to dine in Swellendam where they serve an excellent gazpacho and one of the better rib-eye steaks. Try it out and you will like it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lex195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lack of inspiration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had high hopes for this restaurant based on other reviews but felt disappointed afterwards. Will tell you why

We could not find the passion in the food, the starter of trout was in fact some fish served on a biscuit with some capers on the site. Looked more like home cooking than bistro style. The main of ribeye was a "steak frites" offering, good meat but nothing special here too.

When you select the starter of trout followed by a goat cheese main course salad, you will leave hungry. We informed the waiter and she solved it by offering a complementory bowl of fries. Whilst she acted understanding on the request, we could not help noticing that this was not the first time.

Last but not least we were in and out in an hour. This is for South African standards really fast.

We might have come on a wrong night, but then again one expects the service to be up to par on any night. All in all we have found better locations in Swellendam to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting....great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went to Field and Fork for a very special wedding and was bowled over by the setting, the ambience, the food and the service. What a stunning venue which felt perfect for the event. Hugely recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went for a wedding and had superb food with excellent service. The setting from outside the courtyard is also stunning. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TPH186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Field & Fork also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Field & Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing