We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”

Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had dinner here since our guest house was next door and we didn’t want to drive. They were not very busy but the food, wine and service was very good. We had a combination plate with three different meats we had never tried before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We chose this restaurant because was very closed to our guest house. It is located just outside the city centre along the main road, the atmosphere was good and the staff nice. The restaurant was empty but we waited a long time for a chicken fillet, and a basil pasta. The portions were good but the quality so and so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaoNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgemead, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

on a trip to Swellendam we stopped in at the restaurant for lunch. Unfortunately the service was pretty poor. 30 minutes for our tea and coffee, the tea was cold already because it had obviously stood for a while.

The food was nicely presented, the springbok pie was a real treat though, very very good!

It got a bit chilly outside, so we went inside. We couldn't find a waiter, in fact no one was attending to the front of house. We did see our waiter again, but it was only him closing a door, he never checked if we were ok.

So while the food was nice, the service was pathetic and I can't recommend the restaurant, at least not for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Bugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a fabulous find this was. The restaurant was great, the food and the service was outstanding. We hung out there pretty much all day as we had been on a long flight. The guy running the restaurant was so attentive without being intrusive.

Our room was very comfortable..we did arrive in South Africa's winter so the evenings were chilly so for me the one thing that would have made a huge difference would be to have electric blankets on the beds, otherwise not complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've been visiting the Western Cape for several years now, and never miss the chance to visit The Old Mill.
The accommodation is comfortable and the food is varied and plentiful, not to forget delicious.
For those of us who enjoy a drink the wine list is terrific.
I strongly recommend a visit, and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Review of resto only, we were staying nearby at the superb Moolmanshof
Open and ready to serve at any time, we had good wholesome food, plentiful portions with good wine, good choice of food, and service polite and pleasant. Quiet each time we went in but we weren't quite in the full spring season but they were ready to serve and gave us a good welcome.

Food well prepared and delicious, not pretentious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We've stopped off several times in the past for lunch at the Old Mill en route to somewhere else. This time, we were staying at Bloomestate directly opposite. Ominously, we'd noticed that the Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant was for sale when we popped into a Pam Golding franchise on a walk before lunch. As far as we could tell, the menu was much the same as on our previous trips, with the usual light lunches of salads, sandwiches, local hot specialties and so on. It's also still quite a nice spot for lunch, with a raised part in the garden more separated from the road. The wine list was adequate but with quite a mark up. We chose a spinach and mushroom quiche with salad and a smoked salmon salad. It's sad to say, but the quiche was quite possibly the worst quiche I've ever had (even worse than my mother-in-law's, in fact): it looked and tasted as if it had been made two weeks ago and then warmed up a hundred times since. The accompanying salad was mainly lettuce and the coleslaw and chutney were awful. My husband's smoked salmon (actually salmon trout) certainly came with a generous amount of fish but the salad was similarly uninspiring.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
2.0 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.0 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 38 in Swellendam
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#11 of 38 in Swellendam
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 38 in Swellendam
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Shades B&B
African Shades B&B
#19 of 38 in Swellendam
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#14 of 38 in Swellendam
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant

Property: Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant
Address: 241 243 Voortrekstraat | P.O.Box 557, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Mill Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing