We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodge Stayover”
Review of Gaikou Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaikou Lodge
Ranked #19 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This 4 star Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Swellendam, a lovely country town to visit.
The beauty of your surroundings are unsurpassed, rolling lawns, a small river, two dams , massive mountain range.
Accommodation is very modern,spacious and clean with all mod cons. A small microwave would be a good addition to the suite.
Staff are friendly,efficient and go out of their way to be accommodating.
Breakfast is substantial and of high calibre,served on the patio with a view that presses you to take your time with the meal.
Totally recommendable.You will want to stay longer !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome on our 2 night stay at this lovely lodge.
Very comfortable and of a very high standard.
Large double bed, bath and separate shower, kitchenette with basin and basic crockery and cutlery. Best of all, a large covered veranda with views of the mountains.
Would recommend a stay here and would love to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a beautiful, newly built lodge situated at the base of the mountains with a spectacular view of the mountain. Room is beautiful and well equipped with great linen. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Really tranquil spot perfect for weekend get away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The folks at Gaikou Lodge really worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. The surroundings are beautiful, staff was great, and our rooms were gorgeous. Swellendam is a cute little town and enjoyable to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A group of 28 of us stayed for two nights in late November. This place is a little gem in Swellendam. It has separate cottages with rooms for couples and family units plus a central common area. The views of the mountains behind the lodge are great. The ladies who were on duty for our weekend were fantastic as was the presentation of the rooms and breakfast. It could not be faulted and certainly delivers on its 4 star rating. We will be back next year !

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Africanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay one night at the Gaikou lodge in Swellendam- next time we'll plan on staying ther for longer.

The location is not far from the city center, but you feel like in the middle of a nature reserve right after you cross the entrance gate.

Each room is rather a free-standing little house with a huge cloak room, a kitchenette, on open, large bathroom area with bathtub an a seperated toilet and shower. The bedroom/livingroom area is also very spacious and there even is a small DVD selection if the variety of channels won't find your satisfaction. Experience the outside area/ veranda that leads right into nature and the great sourroundings!

The breakfast is rich with fruits, joghurt and cereals and warm breakfast as eggs, bacon & tomatoes. And one of the very few places with a real coffe machine!!

We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyKris1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

In reality much nicer than the photos available. Well designed placement of the villas meant a feeling of spaciousness facilitated by the terrific view of the mountain outside your door. Very comfortable & stylish interior. Good service and some nice touches to make you feel welcome A perfect weekend treat for the 'special one', or you partner if Mourinho is n/a. Also seems plenty to do for the family as well.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Number5ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.8 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
465 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
214 reviews
2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaikou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaikou Lodge

Address: 69 Berg Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $151 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaikou Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family tourism and business accommodation in Swellendam. Gaikou Lodge offers bed & breakfast accommodation on a 16 hectare private property at the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, at walking distance from central Swellendam's shops, attractions and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gaikou Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing