We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place”
Review of Gaikou Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaikou Lodge
Ranked #16 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Modern and noble design in the quiet surrounding of mountains.
We really regret that we spent only one night at this most wonderful and luxury place.
Being welcomed open-hearted we enjoyed our short stay every second.
After a perfectly composed and very delicious dinner we slept in absolute silence and peace.
All of that and not at least the generous breakfast-arrangement made it really hard to leave this place.
Congratulations to it´s owner, the professional and lovely staff and the way to run this lodge.
We can highly recommend it.
Johannes and Corinna Poth

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Gaikou Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Gaikou Lodge is number one of our guest house list! The spacious units have everything you could wish for. "Love for detail" ribbons were everywere, around the towls, cutlery, milk jug,.. Popcorn, marshmallows, hot chocolate and DVD´s were available in the room for a relaxing movie evening. The lodge is set in a very scenic landscape of mountains the quiet surrounding invites to relax and forgett about the daily stress. The breakfast was luxury, high quality food you wouldn´t find in an other guest house. Would come back any time again! It was an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sonja_Travel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is wonderful, we were more than surprised!
Gaikou really is a dream hang-out; spacious units (handy when you are travelling with a baby), tasteful and upmarket furnishings, professional and extremely friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous views and just 2 mins walk from the nice cafés of Swellendam, all set in its own private and quite grounds. We will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kushimoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We went to Gaikou lodge to spend some time with my daughter, her husband and child who drove up from Cape Town. Gaikou lodge is absolutely beautiful. The self catering units are far superior to any others we have seen. Modern, spacious, clean and enjoyable. The service is really delightful and the breakfast which was included in the rate was most delicious. I would recommend Gaikou lodge to everyone. You will not be disappointed.
Shirley from Wilderness.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SUNSETS_AND_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We never expected such luxury, particularly at this price! These new beautifully appointed self-catering units are wonderful - they still smell new - and set in a fully fenced and secure estate! High ceilings, rich fabrics, beautiful crisp white percale linen, flat screen TV and granite tops in the kitchenette. Located at the end of town, on the mountainside, you feel so close to nature, yet the town centre is a street away. We stayed in the larger family unit and were so pleased that both bedrooms had their own full bathrooms (these are open plan with the most magnificent bath - big enough for 2!). Jamie looked after us from the moment we booked our accommodation to when we checked out. Breakfast is included in the price and is fit for a king! We had told Jamie that we were travelling with our 21 month old and she set up their campcot without us asking. The little touches (nougat on the pillows, hot water bottles & a few complimentary DVD's at dusk, polar fleece blankets on the patio chairs outside etc. etc. etc.) made this a wonderful treat for the whole family!
Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay for at least a week!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nicky1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hartmut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kamers zijn allemaal goed gelegen, geen onderscheid mijn inziens
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 38 in Swellendam
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 38 in Swellendam
519 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaikou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaikou Lodge

Address: 69 Berg Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $104 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaikou Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family tourism and business accommodation in Swellendam. Gaikou Lodge offers bed & breakfast accommodation on a 16 hectare private property at the foothills of the Langeberg Mountains, at walking distance from central Swellendam's shops, attractions and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaikou Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing