We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Italian Restaurant”

Woodpecker Pizzadeli
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swellendam is home to the Woodpecker Pizzadeli.Well known for our thin base pizza variety, delicious pasta dishes, homemade burgers and scrumptious schnitzels!Licensed.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The place was recommended by a colleague. Great pizza's, quality wine and lovely service. Definitely worth while paying a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    104
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pizza good”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice pizzas at reasonable prices. Pretty good food, right on the main road going into town. Friendly service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobynKadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“sunday drive”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were a size able group that traveled to Swellendam as a nice Sunday morning motorbike drive, before hand, our orders were given by telephone, after a short discription of available pizzas on the menu, in order for them to be ready upon arrival. we were all seated outside upon arrival, drinks- americano, cappacino, chocochino, hot chocolate- we were ordered and were swiftly brought to warm our inners, we were still enjoying our coffee when our pizzas started appearing. looking delicious and tasting as good as it looks with enough avo or salami for those who ordered these. thin bases, bowls of garlic and chili were also available on the table. the price, the pizza, the service made the drive the worthwhile and of course left overs for dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending some time at the Woodpecker Restaurant in Swellendam on 06/05/2013.
The food was of a very high standard as was the drinks. I had a pizza that was very good. Lovely thin and crispy base with lots of toppings. A very good balance of flavour and texture.

Will be going back again when back in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, nice surroundings, but service could be quicker.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were staying at local B & B and this restaurant was very near. It specialises in pizzas, pasta and other dishes and we ordered meatballs for one dish and schnitzel for the other.
There is little choice of wine, but the white provided was excellent. The serving staff were very nice but eventually embarrassed because we had to wait so long for our meal. We were even given a free glass of wine to compensate.
Eventually the food arrived and was excellent.
We never found out the reason for the delay and in many ways it did not matter, as we had nowhere else to go.
But somebody should have been monitoring the situation to avoid the problem.
Still recommended although only for the food and the embarrassed staff!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodpecker Pizzadeli also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Woodpecker Pizzadeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing