We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very South Africa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Molen

De Molen
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very South Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate here a year ago and didn't get a chance to write a review. Although the decor has improved, I'm afraid my chicken schnitzel hanging over a burger bun didn't cut it as a chicken burger. This is a bit old-style. The guys here have a LOT of enthusiasm. We will be back to see the progress. Great out of the way location, and it has turned a bit pubby. But a lot of fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrPeterVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“New Owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This excellent restaurant just keep on going! New owners, but still nice atmosphere and good menu. Excellent and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best calamari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

When I wanted seafood, and calamari, the guys sent us to this little gem. It is completely local, and completely off the beaten track. The romance of the old building is nothing to scoff at. You can't beat it and what was really sweet was this little square hole in the plaster so you could see the original wall dating from, well, I don't know. It is over 200 years old and the old mill still works. The whole town is full of national monuments. How could you go wrong in Swellendam?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_R_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Moffid, Nicolet and family are running an award winning restaurant here, in what must count as one of the most beautifull locations in Swellendam. Steaks is consistently good, as well as a nice selection of seafood and pizza's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best T-bone in SA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love this little place. It is a favorite. The food is always fresh, service with a smile and the best T-bone in SA by far.
We go here at least once a week when in town

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IthaTalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Molen also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Molen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing