We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food well served by the scotsman.”

Powell House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We make you feel at home. A quaint restaurant serving delicious food at great value.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food well served by the scotsman.”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My chicken was lovely as was all the vegetables,nice sauce,reasonably priced .
nice atmosphere ,would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    87
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Very delicious, well prepared food and nicly served. If you're not sure what to choose, it all sounds too nice, just ask the waiter/owner of the Powell House, his recommendation will be just perfect!
The restaurant is more on the expensive side, compared to the other restaurants in town but definitely worth the money! And they have an excellent choice of wine, again ask the owner/waiter for advise should you not be sure what to choose.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brüssel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious food which is worth the money!”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The food is very delicious and well prepared, the owner/waiter is really lovely – in case you should be undecided about your choice off food just ask him, his recommendation will be perfect! The restaurant is a bit expensive though, compare to the other restaurants in town but definitely worth the money! And the wine – again recommended by the owner – fits great with the food.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2002_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

From the warm welcome to the excellent food and ambience, this restaurant was a real find. It was so good we returned for three nights, trying something different and wonderful on each occasion. The pickled fish was to die for and the steak, the most tender we have ever had. We particularly loved the South African dishes. Alan is a wonderful host, making us feel so welcome and we so look forward to going back on our next trip to the Western Cape.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwen_guthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, an awesome and unforgettable evening.”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

During a recent visit to South Africa- April- my husband and I happened upon this jewel of a restaurant. From the warmth of the welcome, matched by the warmth of the fire on this chilly evening- this was an evening of extraordinary experiences. The choice of South African cooking was superb: the menu included several venison dishes and traditional dishes like Cape Malay curry and bobotie. We decided to be adventurous. I opted for: a warthog carpaccio, followed by the grilled Springbok and a South African dessert called Malva Pudding. It was all unbelieveably tasty. My husband also embarked on an epicurean adventure: beginning with a snoek springroll with a local type of yam, followed by a venison Potjie and a Cape Brandy Tart. This was fine dining par excellence! And at such a reasonable price: around R120 - R150 per head for a 3 course meal. This excluded wine. The wine list catered for all price brackets and we liked the fact that it featured all local wines- mainly from the region. Alan, the owner, provided the kind of service you would get in a 5 star establishment and the cherry on top of the whole evening was the entertainment provided by the 2 beautiful Xhosa women kitchen staff who sang and danced. A truly memorable experience which we thoroughly enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmmHullbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell House Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Powell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing