We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet fine dining”

Powell House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We make you feel at home. A quaint restaurant serving delicious food at great value.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We received personalised attention and the food was fabulous. Had the lamb curry which was very tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    85
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
“A Swellendam fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

On a cool winters evening this was a gem! Alan was fantastic and our meal was even better!
My husband and I both had the lamb curry which was just perfect for warming body and soul. We shared the recommended malva pudding which was superb. Homemade fudge was the 'cherry' on top.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Alan the owner /waiter was excellent ! We had a wonderful meal. I ordered the Oxtail and my husband ordered the lamb curry. We both enjoyed our food. We got to meet Alan's wife Cheryl who is also the chef . We will be back next time we are in Swellendam

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Outstanding food, service, and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Powell House Restaurant. We were fortunate to find it open on a Saturday night in late fall. Alan (our host and waiter) was very personable and generous with his time as well as his knowledge of food and wine. We also had the chance to meet Cheryl, his wife and cook. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bit of formality in its style. Alan, however, was very warm and welcoming, and that what was really what created the comfortable ambience of the restaurant. My wife and I both had the nightly special, a slow roasted lamb shank that was hands-down the best we'd ever eaten. We shared an excellent salad, and enjoyed the pesto mashed potatoes and roasted vegetables that accompanied the entree. Alan recommended a rose' wine to go with the meal, and it turned out to be the perfect match. On our next trip to South Africa, we'll definitely plan a stop in Swellendam just to have the chance to dine again at Powell House Restaurant. Highly recommended! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBenshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
“Swellendam's Little Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chicken pie like Gran used to prepare yummmmm. Had the most delightful afternoon at Powell House recently. Allan and Cheryl with their team of friendly staff made for a delightful afternoon. My two little pekingese doggies were also very welcome and loved their romp out on the immaculately trimmed lawns in the gorgeous sunshine. The decor is lovely, restaurant spotlessly clean and the warm welcome a delight to the soul. Well done Allan and Cheryl, I hope to return soon when traversing the Garden Route and will be sure to recommend you to all my clients looking for a stop over. ((((hugs))) from Wilma, Jack and Bella

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilmaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell House Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Powell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing