We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant service seems to be a way of life to them”

Powell House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We make you feel at home. A quaint restaurant serving delicious food at great value.
Turku, Finland
1 review
“Good restaurant service seems to be a way of life to them”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

They don't "just work" there. They run the restaurant with all their hearts. You can feel or sense whether a person is genuine or not. They really are.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Powell House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do our very best to make our guests feel welcome and attend to their every need. We hope you will be able to visit us again one day.
Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    85
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Swellendam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of my favourite places to eat. Elegant, stylish with great food and great service.
We eat here at least once a week when in town. The menu caters for everyone. The food is freshly prepared. The host has a sense of humor.
In winter it is warm and cosy and in summer it is cool and pleasant.
We recommend it to all our friends and guests

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IthaTalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape
1 review
“Pleasant Powell House Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Powell House Restaurant in Swellendam is often praised for its warm hearted service and excellent food. Owners Allan and Cheryl Caw are the salt of the earth - right from the start they will make you feel at home. Portions are pleasant. Try the tender steak or ostrich bobotie, local cuisine with an European flair. And be aware, be very aware: their Death by Chocolate really do taste like heaven..!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carinastander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stop off lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stopping off during a long day driving the garden route I was completely replenished in this lovely restaurant by the gorgeous food and lovely manner of Alan the owner. We ate delicious lamb curry and Babotee (Sp) which was some of the best we had on the trip. I would thoroughly recommend eating here to top-up your reserves on the garden route.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wherearewewritenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The lunch was really good. We enjoyed the fresh salads and the peaceful surrounds. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Garethcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell House Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Powell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing