We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food with some very nice staff, if a bit busy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vagebond Restaurant

De Vagebond Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Under New ownership since 1 December 2010, it became a Family Restaurant serving Local Cuisine and Traditional South African Dishes, including; Bobotie, Game Pie, Kudu Fillet, Springbok Shank, Malva Pudding. We stock some of the regions finest wines and have a fully stocked bar. A big fire will be burning in the evenings if the weather allows to welcome all to a romantic night of the best South Africa have to offer.
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Decent food with some very nice staff, if a bit busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

A group of us had dinner here last week.

The staff were really friendly and very good humoured, which was just as well as the time between courses was incredibly slow.

We sat outside and maybe the restaurant was too busy but they seemed under staffed.

We did have a good time, the food was good but it just took too long.

I would try it again and maybe in a smaller group the food would come out faster????

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    83
    47
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us for the good steaks.Unfortunately the steaks were , to put it lightly, inedible.We were not charged for the steaks - the soup and dessert was quite good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nicht wieder!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have bern nicely welcomed, Even on the street when we were only looking on the Menu outside , the Manager came And Showed us the Full menu. We Decided to sit inside And this was the Last Time we ever saw the Manager!
The prices are favourable And the Service People were really nice but too busy. They did Not have Time to recommand anything plus it Took Almost 15 min until we got the Bill. The Manager And his wife were sitting on a table in Stead of supporting And trying To offer a Good Service to the guests.
We Would rather Pay more for better Service! Nobody ever Said goodbye or thank you when we were Leaving!
Very poor Service when Patrons just observe but do Not help!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHAS2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

a popular place for those who do not want to spend much money for food. the quality is okay, quite simple - nothing special. for families and groups just the right place. for individuals the restaurant on the opposite side of the street (field and fork) is really special. a bit more expensive but very nice atmosphere, good service and worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klaus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
262 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent meal on Valentines night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had been to this Restaurant on our previous visit to Swellendam, we enjoyed it then and we enjoyed it on Valentines night. We had salad to share for starters and I had Bobotie for my main, which I thoroughly enjoyed, the others had fish and steak, we tried one sweet between 4 of us as we were full, but the lovely waitress said we must try this sweet, did and it was delightful. The service was excellent, the only down side was we found the wines a little expensive to other places we had eaten on our travels.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 450kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vagebond Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to De Vagebond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing