We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Hotspot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swellendam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sosta Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hospitality Hotspot!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

While possibly the main reason to stay here is to have easy access to the remarkable restaurant (see separate entries). It also has many added benefits in that one is able to interact with Gianni and Cristiana, two most charming and hospitable hosts. Although the restaurant may be the main focus of the operation, the three bedrooms are stylish, comfortable, spotlessly clean and thoughtfully equipped. It is so easy to relax before and after dinner. Breakfasts offer the same high standard as dinner and the well-chosen ingredients are of the highest quality as is the coffee. Incredible value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Worldwide best hospitality ever,
We were in Swellendam during a heatstroke with our 9 months old daughter. When we arrived she was already sick, but the help and everything we got from the owners was the best you could ever imagine.
At night we had a great dinner and the next day we had to leave to hospital unfortunately. We left with tears in our eyes because of the great help and mental support of Cristiana & Giovanni

We travel all the world but Cristiana & Giovanni are the best you can ever get and it's true!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaynetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I will keep this short. A very very good meal. The owner and staff are very helpful in this Italian restaurant and will help you with menu if required.They advised us we might have ordred to much from the menu. Best to share some of the first courses. Best to book ahead. We will go back. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We really didn't think that we would find a restaurant like this in Swellendam. It is a small Italian restaurant run by a Milanese couple and provides delicious food. Everything is as fresh as it could be with everything home made if possible. It is well worth going to if you are I that area. Booking is advisable. For three courses plus corkage we paid under 500 Rand, which, we thought, was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed only one night as we had a tight schedule travelling through South Africa. But if we had more time we would have stayed for the food alone (the best italian I have ever had - the veal was amazing!). They run their own restaurant inside the B&B and there was a nice atmosphere with some local diners and a lovely fireplace that added to the experience. The couple that own and run the La Sosta B&B and restaurant are really lovely and hospitable. You feel like a respected guest with plenty of privacy (the B&B rooms have their own entrance from outside so it doesn't feel like you are staying inside the house which is nice) and at the same time feel like you are in a nice and relaxed home as you can walk around the gardens or sit in their restaurant/lounge area and relax (or go through your maps and itinerary like we did). The rooms were quite pretty and homely whilst being very comfortable.

The location is great for those travelling through this part of South Africa and I recommend that you do not choose any other place than this. The price is very reasonable. Our dinner was the most expensive part (although still very reasonable)because we just kept eating and drinking as the quality was second to none.

I am sorry it has taken me so long to write this review because I rely on other people's reviews so often.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CN_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 mi away
Cornfields River B&B and Self Catering
0.1 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#20 of 37 in Swellendam
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sosta Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sosta Guesthouse

Property: La Sosta Guesthouse
Address: 145 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian hospitality in the heart of the Overberg. The Guest House has 3 rooms with own private entrance, overlooking the garden with swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing