We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would you like Seconds?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Connection - CLOSED

The Connection
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Would you like Seconds?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed our first night here so much we booked to go again the following night. There isn't a menu, but that makes it all the more interesting. You start with bread and pate, followed by a small bowl of soup. The main course was served on a platter and consisted of beef fillet in a mushroom sauce, pork loin in soy and sherry sauce, lamb stew in a small pot, potatoes and veg and we were even asked if we wanted seconds. The beef fillet was so good we could hardly say no! We believe the beef fillet stays but the other two meats change daily, as did the soup. There aren't many tables and all were taken on the terrace both nights so if you want to enjoy some exceptional home cooking booking is advisable. We thought the food here was the best in our 18 day tour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty extremely tender Meat - delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had supper a few times at The Connection.

The word that best describes their food is WOW!

The food was out of this world. The service was excellent.

The owners go out of the way to ensure that you have a great meal, This is a must if you pass this way.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swdcomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The set menu is worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived in swellendam late on 30 November and were starving. We didn't expect much by way of restaurants being open late in the small town, but we were wrong. We found Connections. Not only were the owners absolutely fabulous people, the set menu was very pleasantly surprising. Actually the food was quite honestly simply superb. I would eat there again definitely. My husband and I were very pleased.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quartershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

fantastic meat,best vegeatrian meal (welcome some notice to prepare),best Pinotage on our trip,most relaxing and friendly hosts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kudo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our third trip to South Africa and to Swellendam. Each time we have made a point of eating at The Connection. Ollie and Jenny, the owners, make us feel so welcome. The food is excellent, and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. We highly recommend this restaurant. Chris & Bill, Barbados

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6Brandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Connection also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing