We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely enjoyable evening!”
Review of The Connection - CLOSED

The Connection
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
saltash
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable evening!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

fantastic meat,best vegeatrian meal (welcome some notice to prepare),best Pinotage on our trip,most relaxing and friendly hosts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kudo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food served with a smile”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our third trip to South Africa and to Swellendam. Each time we have made a point of eating at The Connection. Ollie and Jenny, the owners, make us feel so welcome. The food is excellent, and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. We highly recommend this restaurant. Chris & Bill, Barbados

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6Brandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying in the African Shades guesthouse accross the street we were happy to have our dinner-evening here. No menu, but the plates with meat and the soup was great.
The atmosphere is very warm and we enjoyed it all the way

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Located close to the center of Swellendam, it's a small, simple and nice restaurant.
There's a set menu and it's very good. Start with a delicius soup, three different type of meat cooked in different way and the dessert, all with wine. Absolutely not expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No surprises”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

No surprises. A nice meal if you like lots of meat. Not enough fresh vegetable for me personally.
As a local, I don't go to often as there is no variety

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank IthaTalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Connection also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing