We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in a pleasant setting”
Review of La Belle Alliance

La Belle Alliance
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Belle Alliance, a family run restaurant since 1998, is situated on the main road between the Drostdy Museum and the Dutch Reformed Church, on the banks of the Koornlands river.The historical building was formerly a masonic lodge with some symbols still visible on the premises today. The garden terrace offers tranquility and shade under a canopy of White Stinkwood trees and lots of sunshine and blankets on cooler winter days."Specials" include both traditional and international dishes, all freshly home made.La Belle Alliance is renowned for its efficient and friendly service. The venue is child and dog friendly and the ideal spot to enjoy a relaxed breakfast or lunch.Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays: 8am to 5pm.Fully Licensed.Credit cards accepted.Languages spoken: English, Afrikaans, Dutch/Flemish, French and German.Indoor (50 pax) and outdoor(100 pax) seating.Groups welcome.Find us on facebook.GPS longitude: 20'27' EGPS Latitude: 34' 01' S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lunch in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed lunch here, from quite an extensive menu, and found it good value. The building is historic and typical of others in Swellendam. We sat on the tree-shaded terrace by the river, a lovely spot just off the main road, but surprisingly quiet. It is a pity they close at 5pm, as this would be a nice spot to eat dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    94
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Following the French”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant and saw a party of French people entering. "Was it recommended?" "Oui". So we followed them in as the French are no slouches at lunchtime!

We fond Belgian owners. Had a superb lunch on the river terrace and although popular the food was excellent. Service suffered a little with the pressure of covers but Its somewhere I would go again, not only for the food but for the superb interior to the restaurant, the variety of bird life and the history.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zuludelta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food in the middle of nowhere...well almost”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Days before our visit to Swellendam, we unfortunately had to contend with mediocre service, with food on the verge of disgusting, at all touristy places, wherever we went.
Swellendam is a small town on the N2 highway with miles of nothing before, and more miles of nothing after it so, it seemed to make sense, to come off the highway, and find somewhere to eat lunch....glad we did. The restaurant is tucked away from the Swellendamgrebel Street on the river, partially masked by mature trees, and flowering bushes however, the entrance to the carpark is unmistakable since the tall white painted building draws attention. We found a table close to the high river bank under the shade of trees, and ordered out meal which was chosen from the daily menu. It seems that everywhere in South Africa a Thursday is chicken pie day! Well, we ordered chicken pie, and for all the curiosity, I decided to try the Matjes (Herring) rolls with salad. The service was prompt, and friendly, the pie was very tasty, as were, most surprisingly, the lightly marinated Matjes rolls. At last! we were served with fresh salads, for which we had a choice of olive oils, dressings, and condiments. Although the restaurant offers a variety of good wines, we didnt want to indulge in breaking the law on the road.
Although there are several other eateries in town, none compare with the ambience experienced here. Well worth a visit before or after season and on weekends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrotter5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Sadly food only so so. :-(”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose to stop here for lunch en route from Knysna to Hermanus. The restaurant is conveniently handy for the N2 & is situated under trees by the river.

Sadly, the toasted sandwiches, fries & salads didn't match the location. The service was both swift & friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Decline of an institution”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Used to be great...riversude setting, cool breezes. Good ceap food.

It's dominated by tourist coaches and the owners have decided that it's OK to drop standards because tourists don't come back.

Well we do..or rather we could, but won't.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozzertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Alliance also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to La Belle Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing