We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try new flavours”
Review of La Belle Alliance

La Belle Alliance
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Belle Alliance, a family run restaurant since 1998, is situated on the main road between the Drostdy Museum and the Dutch Reformed Church, on the banks of the Koornlands river.The historical building was formerly a masonic lodge with some symbols still visible on the premises today. The garden terrace offers tranquility and shade under a canopy of White Stinkwood trees and lots of sunshine and blankets on cooler winter days."Specials" include both traditional and international dishes, all freshly home made.La Belle Alliance is renowned for its efficient and friendly service. The venue is child and dog friendly and the ideal spot to enjoy a relaxed breakfast or lunch.Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays: 8am to 5pm.Fully Licensed.Credit cards accepted.Languages spoken: English, Afrikaans, Dutch/Flemish, French and German.Indoor (50 pax) and outdoor(100 pax) seating.Groups welcome.Find us on facebook.GPS longitude: 20'27' EGPS Latitude: 34' 01' S
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try new flavours”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The restuarant was very pleasant, but because it was almost empty it seemed to echo. It was also not very warm. The food was very good and we tried many new flavours. The service was friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    94
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, cosy, friendly service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped here whilst driving along the Garden Route for a light lunch.
It was a rainy cold day when we visited, but the owners had lit an open log fire making the whole place welcoming and cheery.
I opted for the Bobouti, which was well presented and delicious; service was efficient and friendly.
If the weather had been warmer we would have eaten outside on the deck, adjacent to the river.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent setting, fresh food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The setting for this restaurant is what set's it apart from the others in Swellendam. The terrace is just above the river and the views are lovely. That said is was winter when we visited and although there were people sitting outside we chose to sit inside.

The staff were very obliging and showed us the specials board while taking our drinks order. There were quite a few of us and it could have been confusing but the owner took it all in his stride.

Suggestions were made for lunch and the food arrived a little while later. It did not take too long but then I would rather wait a little longer and know that it was freshly cooked rather than have it delivered immediately straight from the microwave.

All in all a good location with good honest food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good venue, poor restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

La Belle's venue is great on the banks of the Koornlands river, but food is overpriced and of average quality. I visited this restaurant twice and every time food quality and service was not on standard.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flame012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had been advised this was a good stop for lunch and what good advice it was. Such a lovely, pleasant location by the river and the food and service was excellent. Only good things to say about La Belle Alliance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Alliance also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to La Belle Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing