We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Little Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Saanichton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The oldest standing house in Swellendam, built in Cape Dutch style. Rooms had once been stables, all redecorated into lovely rooms, what an experience staying there. Located on the main street but very quiet on the property, beautiful gardens and a little plunge pool. The breakfast in the morning was unforgettable and that with the charming hospitality make it a memorable stop.
So glad we found it!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

To enjoy a relaxing stay in a traditional property in a quiet area, this should be your choice. Add in the charming hospitality of your host, Lizette and you have the perfect ingredients to enhance your stay.
My wife and I will no doubt return on our next trip from the UK

Room Tip: Go for the "honeymoon suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlare, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Staying at Moolmanshof B&B is a unique experience. The house is the oldest house left in Swellendam - construction date 1798 and has been declared a museum. The entire place oozes character and history. The owner Lizette is able to fill you in on the history of the home and of Swellendam and surroundings. Tea or coffee with biscuits is served on arrival and her breakfast is WOW! I feel privileged to have been able to spend time in this wonderful place and with this wonderful person. We had some great chats - thank you again Lizette. To the quilters among you there is a small Quiltshop in Swellendam called The Hilltop Quiltshop run by Carool and recommended by Lizette.

Room Tip: It is a quit area even if situated on one of the main streets of Swellendam and we experienced no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennydeschutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My partner and I were of two very different opinions. The house had charm and history throughout, the grounds were fun to explore, the breakfast may have been the best every and very unique and the hostess (and owner) was wonderful. That being said it was a warm day and the room didn't cool down very much and with no fan or Air Con to help I did not sleep well at all. leaving the windows opened helped - but that invited in the bugs. The room itself was fine, although the bathroom was a bit dated, but it was functional. The pool, while small was clean and enjoyable and helped us cool down after a hot day's drive.

Room Tip: This is both a B&B and a self catering establishment. There are 3 rooms, the 2 front rooms are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 72kingscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Wonderful five night stay at the Bo Kapie, a chalet that belongs to the Moolmanshof but is situated far more in the centre of Swellendam, at Jansen St. just off Voortrek St.. We stayed as a family (parents, two children and a baby) and it was self-catering.

The house is phantastic - from 1833, of course a bit modernized, but it has kept the 19th century charme. The floor is wood and stone, you can use the old fireplace for a romantic fire (there is also a modern stove and oven). The kitchen and bathroom are simple but very sufficient, and there is also an additional bathroom (with bathing tub) under the second bedroom, in a kind of cellar. Very original.

It has wonderful charme, though one should mention that there are some ants (not a big problem unless you are super squeamish). The garden is an adventure playground for the kids (no seating possibilities for grown-ups).

Lizette, the owner, is charming, helpful, and very friendly. She phoned or emailed several times to ask if everything was fine. When on a hot day we used the pool at the Moolmanshof (not a very big pool, but just right for kids, and there is also a big garden) - she even served mango juice for everybody!

We had a memorable stay and would always come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonreir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brusseks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Oldest house in Swellendam. Beautiful Cape Dutch house, lovely decoration, great breakfast. A bit cold. A place to remember. Very very nice owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

From returning from a fabulous safari experience, all our expectations were already satisfied, then we arrived here. Well, we stayed in the annex and our friends (with three children) stayed in the adjoining room, very comfortable indeed. The proprietor, was one of the most helpful and courteous people who I've ever met and we were provided a magnificent breakfast in the main dining room of the main house. The main house itself is pure Cape Dutch architecture with interesting furniture.
Simply, the welcome we had was worth the price alone, the rest was a bonus.

Room Tip: Just stay here and absorb the ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.6 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#17 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#4 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#11 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langeberg Guest Lodge
Langeberg Guest Lodge
#12 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast

Property: Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast
Address: 217 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering cottage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing