We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed August 17, 2012

To enjoy a relaxing stay in a traditional property in a quiet area, this should be your choice. Add in the charming hospitality of your host, Lizette and you have the perfect ingredients to enhance your stay.
My wife and I will no doubt return on our next trip from the UK

Room Tip: Go for the "honeymoon suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Staying at Moolmanshof B&B is a unique experience. The house is the oldest house left in Swellendam - construction date 1798 and has been declared a museum. The entire place oozes character and history. The owner Lizette is able to fill you in on the history of the home and of Swellendam and surroundings. Tea or coffee with biscuits is served on arrival and her breakfast is WOW! I feel privileged to have been able to spend time in this wonderful place and with this wonderful person. We had some great chats - thank you again Lizette. To the quilters among you there is a small Quiltshop in Swellendam called The Hilltop Quiltshop run by Carool and recommended by Lizette.

Room Tip: It is a quit area even if situated on one of the main streets of Swellendam and we experienced no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennydeschutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My partner and I were of two very different opinions. The house had charm and history throughout, the grounds were fun to explore, the breakfast may have been the best every and very unique and the hostess (and owner) was wonderful. That being said it was a warm day and the room didn't cool down very much and with no fan or Air Con to help I did not sleep well at all. leaving the windows opened helped - but that invited in the bugs. The room itself was fine, although the bathroom was a bit dated, but it was functional. The pool, while small was clean and enjoyable and helped us cool down after a hot day's drive.

Room Tip: This is both a B&B and a self catering establishment. There are 3 rooms, the 2 front rooms are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Wonderful five night stay at the Bo Kapie, a chalet that belongs to the Moolmanshof but is situated far more in the centre of Swellendam, at Jansen St. just off Voortrek St.. We stayed as a family (parents, two children and a baby) and it was self-catering.

The house is phantastic - from 1833, of course a bit modernized, but it has kept the 19th century charme. The floor is wood and stone, you can use the old fireplace for a romantic fire (there is also a modern stove and oven). The kitchen and bathroom are simple but very sufficient, and there is also an additional bathroom (with bathing tub) under the second bedroom, in a kind of cellar. Very original.

It has wonderful charme, though one should mention that there are some ants (not a big problem unless you are super squeamish). The garden is an adventure playground for the kids (no seating possibilities for grown-ups).

Lizette, the owner, is charming, helpful, and very friendly. She phoned or emailed several times to ask if everything was fine. When on a hot day we used the pool at the Moolmanshof (not a very big pool, but just right for kids, and there is also a big garden) - she even served mango juice for everybody!

We had a memorable stay and would always come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonreir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Oldest house in Swellendam. Beautiful Cape Dutch house, lovely decoration, great breakfast. A bit cold. A place to remember. Very very nice owner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

From returning from a fabulous safari experience, all our expectations were already satisfied, then we arrived here. Well, we stayed in the annex and our friends (with three children) stayed in the adjoining room, very comfortable indeed. The proprietor, was one of the most helpful and courteous people who I've ever met and we were provided a magnificent breakfast in the main dining room of the main house. The main house itself is pure Cape Dutch architecture with interesting furniture.
Simply, the welcome we had was worth the price alone, the rest was a bonus.

Room Tip: Just stay here and absorb the ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My partner and stayed at Moolmanshof last Christmas and I can honestly say it was the best!
We had one of the little cottages in the grounds which I believe were once stables. Basic but very comfortable with everything you need and fresh flowers in your room most days.
There are no TVs, telephones or wifi connections in the cottages but that's just how we like it! A word of warning to the sqweemish, the place is teeming with insects. Everything from water spiders to BIG roaches. Lots of biting ants and flying terrors! You really get a sense of being right in there with nature. Pack your bug repellant! This is not a criticism - just a general observation.
The cottage was beautifully clean with fresh towels daily (sheet change every other day) with is excellent for a B+B. Outside you have your own little patio area with BBQ. Inside you have a fridge, microwave and kettle in the mini kitchen.
Plenty of good places to eat in the town. I must admit we used the BBQ most nights. Food is cheap and the supermarket is nearby and well stocked. The town is quiet and sleepy...if you're looking for nightlife...forget it!
Beautiful beaches. Arniston I think is about 40 min drive and ther is also Whitsand. Failing that there is an excellent salt water swimming pool in the grounds with a lovely lounging area.
I would highly recommend Moolmanshof if you're looking for somewhere to chill out and relax. Bring some good books and I guarantee you will just love it! We fell in love with the place and are hoping to go back this Christmas.
Amazing hospitality, beautiful house. What more can I say?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walfiethewonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.2 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.5 mi away
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Guesthouse LaRachelle
#32 of 39 in Swellendam
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast

Address: 217 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Swellendam
Price Range: $72 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering cottage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Moolmanshof Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing