We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average!”

Koornlands Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Koornlands Restaurant is the longest serving restaurant in Swellendam, established in 1994. We pride ourselves as being amongst the finest. Warm, friendly and always professional. Our menu often changes due to the seasons and availability. A menu gegustation with wine pairing is available for table participation. Our venison is legend and so is our comprehensive wine cellar. Dine alfresco on the veranda or the garden. We care about vegetarian and vegan preferences. Reservations are highly recommended, due to limited seating. 04.00 PM - 06.00 PM Drinks 06.00 PM - 10.00 PM Dinner
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than average!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited in Nov, and had a very pleasant meal. Mostly lit by candles, and t was a bit dark and shadowy rather than romantic. Fairly plainly decorated. The menu was chalked on a board & wasn't the easiest to read, especially in the rather gloomy lighting! However, we had a very pleasant, if not memorable, meal here. The food was nicely cooked and presented, and they were some interesting game options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calliope245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    109
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good local restaurant; friendly service”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

had dinner there one night. We sat insidel It seemed they had renewed a few things, for it looked all fresh and new. The food was good too. Had great chicken and also nice deserts. Fine service too from the lady of the house. Her husband is the cook and last year he was very grumpy, but this time he was in a good mood it seems. Did a very good job by preparing us a very nice meal. The Koornlands is one of the best choices in town I guess and also opened on Mondays. Prices are moderate and wine is cheap (like almost anywhere else in SA)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryannl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely original meals from local ingredients”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were surprised by the original cooking of traditional south african dishes, their interpretation is very surprising and tasty.
Good value for money

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cape food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Koornlands Restaurant presents a Cape cuisine. And indeed there are some rarities presented like warthog and crocodile. The food was OK, but served in a somewhat peasantly way. Just as is the interior and exterior of the restaurant.
Nevertheless, we had a pleasant evening where food quality balanced the price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a nice setting”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Restaurant is nice, open fireplace with a sort of living room setting. Staff was attentive and helpful. Choice was limited but everything was fresh. we had Kudu Carpaccio, Crocodile Sashimi, excellent lamb and some heavenly Springbok fillet.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonasTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koornlands Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Koornlands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing