We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Oude de Pastorie provided us with the ideal base to explore Swellendam. We stayed in the Galilea room which we found to be more than comfortable - and the bathroom was very stylish ! Tersia provided a warm welcome and was the perfect host. Her breakfasts were generous, tasty and wholesome and set us up perfectly for the day. If we return to Swellendam we wouldn't stay anywhere else !

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

A beautifully renovated vicarage in which you are made so welcome by the owner. Very comfortable and spotless rooms set in lovely grounds in the centre of this pretty town backed by mountains. An ideal stopover location with much to explore. Thoroughly recommended without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravellerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Unfortunately we were only able to spend one night in Swellendam which was a great shame as De Oude Pastorie proved to be a real gem and we would love to have been able to stay longer. The house is charming and all the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. We found Tersia to be a terrific hostess and nothing was ever too much trouble for her. On arrival we were served tea on the front verandah and Tersia kindly made dinner reservations for us at a local restaurant. On our return from the restaurant we discovered that she had even set up her own computer so that we could access the internet and check in with our airline. We were served a fabulous breakfast before departing for the airport the following morning and it would be true to say that we were sad to leave such a delightful haven. Tersia made our stay at the De Oude Pastorie a truely memorable experience and we would certainly pay a return visit if we are in the area again - albeit next time would be for a longer stay. We would highly recommend this guest house to all those seeking a comfortable, clean, friendly and stylish place to stay in Swellendam.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandMaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We arrived late the afternoon and was made feel right at home from the first moment. Tertia went out of her way to accommodate us - we had to have breakfast just after 4am, which she prepared without even blinking an eye! We will definitely be staying over at De Oude Pastorie again when we are in Swellendam - a wonderful experience and a home away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinImmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank FannyGimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ribestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond v, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#15 of 39 in Swellendam
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Address: 101 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $92 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian guesthouse (a parsonage from 1904 until 1974) has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. A scrumptious breakfast is personally prepared by the owners using fresh local produce and from their garden. Dutch, German, English and Afrikaans are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing