We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Karoo Art Hotel(Barrydale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bredasdorp)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
140
35
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
35
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightrich in historyowners are greatgarden routecape townb bguest houseexcellent hospitalitysuper breakfastexcellent staymoment you arrivedinner reservationsperfect hostsmade us feel at homepowell houseold housenew owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 182 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a lovely place, beautifully and very comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean, and glorious setting. Everything was wonderful with charming hosts and excellent breakfast. Well located to see Swellendam and easy access to great restaurants...cant wait to return, Thank You Peter & Caroline Simkins

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thanks for your review Peter and Caroline,we enjoyed your visit please come again.
Kind regards Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

On our way to the Garden Route, we spontaneously looked for accommodation in Swellendam and came across “The Oude Pastorie”. We phoned and booked the Pharaoh room, a luxurious, spacious loft with large private balcony, which allows a stunning view of the garden and the Langeberg mountains. The suite is tastefully decorated and disposes of a large en-suite bathroom with a wonderfully huge shower and a freestanding, decorative bathtub.The hosts recommended an excellent restaurant and even booked a table for us. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at “The Oude Pastorie” and travelled on, rather pleased.

Then we received this unpleasant e-mail: Dana accused us of stealing two gowns.

She allowed us no time to reply to her, nor did she consult her own staff on the matter, but instead took it upon herself to charge our credit card with some odd amount for the gowns. As soon as we could, we immediately responded and explained that there were no gowns in the room when we moved into it.

For days, we didn’t receive any answer at all. Eventually, it took ten full days until she wrote back and explained, with a half-hearted apology, that it was the house service, which apparently failed to deposit the gowns in the room prior to our arrival.

Essentially, it was a matter of internal disorganisation, which led to the gowns going missing and had nothing to do with us. While the money was refunded to our accounts, the incident leaves a very bitter aftertaste and a feeling of disappointment when remembering The Oude Pastorie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swissiecrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review Jorg & Chrissie,
I'm Sorry for taking such a long period to respond to your review.
I'm sorry for the unjustified accusation of theft,When you arrived I said to you that my son and family is visiting from Finland (we see them maybe if we lucky once a year) and that we are going to the coast for a couple of days,spending time together and leaving business at home.During February we are very busy,I should not have charge you immediately but waited for my return to double check.Once again that was not the correct thing to do.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our second visit to Zwellendam and our choice for this guest house was so good. Welcoming drink and the superb accommodation with a full kitchen, dining and sitting room which we so enjoyed using when we were in. The hosts were so kind and we had a drink and a braii with them. Walking distance to many restaurants and super market but the ambience in the lovely garden was hard to leave! Went to the lovely old town of Montagu which was well worth a visit and the Drotsky museum is a must. Thank you so much Robus and Dina for your warmth and kindness and making our stay of four days so enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you Rosemary & John for your kind words,It was such a pleasure and honor having you at our guesthouse.I must still try to cook the fish in the microwave,that you made.
Kind Regards Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our 2 nights stay at the guest house. We found it so relaxing and at the end of the day have a swim in the great pool.
The breakfast was outstanding ably cooked by our host.
Wish English guest houses were as good as this.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank huntChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind words,Kobus enjoyed the remark about the breakfast.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This very nice house with its lovely old styled furniture and the very obliging owner makes our stay very confortable.
okokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokok

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and advertisement for our guest house.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews