We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A lovely place in the beatiful historical village of Swellendam.Very helpful and kindly people. Nice room with all you need. The breakfast is in thé mainhouse and is very special with fresh fruit and bacon and eggs, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aaltje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review Aaltjie,
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful village.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beautiful spot - decor superb. Hosts attentive without being intrusive. In our room the toilet needs a curtain (it's on the way, I'm told) TV appears to offer full service, but only one channel was available, so we read our books. (maybe a query with the hosts would have resolved the issue, but it wasn't that important.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words.
The toilet now has a door and the decoder was rebooted (sorry about that) we have 4 movie channels and 4 sport channels.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This old renovated Pastors House is lovingly kept as a luxury B&B offering space and comfort in bundles. Our hosts were welcoming and hospitable - it is well worth stopping here for more than just a pass through,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words Liz
Kind regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly and very accomadating .
Beautiful gardens on the property with swimming pool.
Very quiet and peaceful surroundings.
Beautiful decor.
Breakfast of Your choice
Excellent value !

Would certainly revisit

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank leslene cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you Leslene,it was nice having you.
Kind Regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Probably our favorite city b&b of our 3 wk stay in the cape. Old house is amazing - we had the suite on the 2nd floor with a library/sitting room right outside our room. Could have lounged around there all day sipping a brandy and reading. Breakfast is solid and hosts lovely + helpful. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you Eric for your review and kind words,glad you enjoyed your stay.
KInd regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. It's a great guest house, central and with all the comforts a 4*-stay should come with. BUT there were 2 major No-Nos: a) the owners deducted the second half of our payment from my credit card without my permission, having illegally stored my card info on their computer (we were planning to pay cash when it turned out we had already "paid"). b) the owners are flying an old (Apartheid) South African flag in their bar, raising major questions about their political values/racism/equality. For us, that's a reason not to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very charming Place with big clean rooms and very nice hosts. The garden is just amazing and in very good shape. We were positively surprised of Swellendam. In case we would visit Swellendam again we would definitely select this B&B again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Address: 101 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $96 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian guesthouse (a parsonage from 1904 until 1974) has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. A scrumptious breakfast is personally prepared by the owners using fresh local produce and from their garden. Dutch, German, English and Afrikaans are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing