We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing old house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 38 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Probably our favorite city b&b of our 3 wk stay in the cape. Old house is amazing - we had the suite on the 2nd floor with a library/sitting room right outside our room. Could have lounged around there all day sipping a brandy and reading. Breakfast is solid and hosts lovely + helpful. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you Eric for your review and kind words,glad you enjoyed your stay.
KInd regards
Kobus & Dina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. It's a great guest house, central and with all the comforts a 4*-stay should come with. BUT there were 2 major No-Nos: a) the owners deducted the second half of our payment from my credit card without my permission, having illegally stored my card info on their computer (we were planning to pay cash when it turned out we had already "paid"). b) the owners are flying an old (Apartheid) South African flag in their bar, raising major questions about their political values/racism/equality. For us, that's a reason not to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very charming Place with big clean rooms and very nice hosts. The garden is just amazing and in very good shape. We were positively surprised of Swellendam. In case we would visit Swellendam again we would definitely select this B&B again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

De Oude Pastorie is on the main road of Swellendam, but is set far back from the road and high above it, so it is pleasantly quiet. You enter through high wrought-iron gates (the bell didn't seem to be working, but there is a mobile phone number on the bell, so travellers should know they may need their mobile to gain entry!) and drive up round a huge fountain.

Dina received us warmly, and we were shown to the Galileo room. It was furnished with a slightly small bed (for two big people!) but had interior shutters on the windows for warmth and total privacy. The bathroom was enormous, and doubled as a dressing room, with huge cupboards and drawers for one's clothes.

Daylight showed a lovely view over the rear garden - a green lawn, mature trees and more fountains. The dining area and common lounge were splendidly in period, and very well maintained. We had a really great breakfast, with some home-made bread and croissants. I had a huge jug of orange juice all to myself, and my wife had a similar jug of mango. The coffee was fresh and strong, a real kick-starter for the day.

We left with a rather sad feeling that we could not stay longer and enjoy the gracious splendour of the place and its heritage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I'm happy to say that we have installed a new "Bell" so visitors won't be needing a phone to enter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A very comfortable establishment with the feeling of total luxury , quality and warmth of the very friendly owners . We staid in the Pharoah room with the wonderful fire place and great views , highly recommendable for a romantic getaway .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

On our way from Knysna to Cape Town we decided to stay over in Swellendam to break the trip. No accommodation was booked, assuming that a place for a family of 4 would be easy to find in a town with many, many B&B's. Not so! But we were welcomed at the De Oude Pastorie and stayed in the very spacious family room upstairs with a fantastic bathroom. The room was quickly prepared for our toddler with a baby bed. Breakfast was great and the house is family friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is a pity, that we only stayed for one night on our way from Capetown to Knysna. We were travelling with my mum, in a group of three and even as we booked a cheaper single room they gave us the two luxury rooms upstairs with our own living room and veranda. Both bathrooms were extraordinary, lots of space nice combination of wood and stone with giant shower and victorian bath. As we only stayed one night we had no possibility to use the very nice looking pool. We have been there the day after the riots and all the restaurants were closed, we even got a mail from Dina discribing the circumstance and an invitation to join them for a barbecue in the evening. The breakfast was very good, too. You will not experience professionals in tourism ( who will describe the house and the surroundings in high speed ) as the owners are new in this business but you will feel more like a guest of the family in their house. Swellendam is perfect for a stopover between capetown and the following Garden Route and my recommendation is to stay longer then one night, enjoy this unique and well restaurated place before you move on. The pets are very friendly and made us feel at home. It is not just a guesthouse, its an experience ;-)

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Spiontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina L, Owner at De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you,for your kind words it was a pleasure having you in our Guest house,hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.8 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.1 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 38 in Swellendam
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 38 in Swellendam
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 38 in Swellendam
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 38 in Swellendam
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 38 in Swellendam
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse

Address: 101 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under the Langeberg Mountains, 220 km from Cape Town along the N2 Garden Route, in the beautiful town of Swellendam in the Overberg region, this magnificent Victorian guesthouse (a parsonage from 1904 until 1974) has welcomed many visitors from all corners of the world. The peaceful settings of the gardens, to the warmth of the splendid decor, and comfort and service to the visitor, guarantee their return. Enjoy the elegance in a stately historic manor house, or in the garden cottage rooms each with a private entrance. Relax in the magnificent landscaped garden, or enjoy the African sun at the large salt-based swimming pool. A scrumptious breakfast is personally prepared by the owners using fresh local produce and from their garden. Dutch, German, English and Afrikaans are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Oude Pastorie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing