We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real treat after a long drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 37 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
197 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“a real treat after a long drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Comfortable, with lovely rooms and interesting art, delicious breakfasts, and a beautiful garden with small swimming pool. Nice friendly host and hostess (belgian/german) and excellent restaurant next door.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    115
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
217
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Very comfortable place to stay, with good breakfasts. Location is not fantastic and it didn't quite live up to the incredibly high standards we had elsewhere in South Africa. Great advice on where to go to for dinner, had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The owners are friendly, the breakfast perfect, the garden is lovely and the decor makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Big toilet, warm room and nice bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Casagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tessin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great place to stay. People very friendly and also very helpful with suggestion on things to do in the region.
Breakfast very good.
Swellendam is a very good place to stay. From there you can reach many places, like De Hoop NP, Cape Agulhas, the garden route and so on.
We really suggest this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadoTessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder, Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Crisp, clean with tasteful decor and high quality fittings and linen. Lovely secluded pool and excellent breakfast as well. Friendly and helpful proprietors, but not intrusive. Not far from town centre and two good restaurants very close by.. Couldn't think of any negatives at all - excellent all round.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was an easy stop for us as we travelled up the Garden Route. Swellendam isn;t exactly somewhere I'd stop to see itself, but it's a good place to have a base if you're interested in driving around to see stuff like De Hoop naational park (big white sand dunes cascading into turquoise sea) and Agulas, the southern most tip of Africa, both being possible in a single worthwhile day trip. The guesthouse itself is owned by a very friendly german couple who will help you with any tips and advice you need for the area. they offer a great breakfast, the pool is great and the rooms are very quiet even though the main road is outside, but its not a very busy road. If you're stopping off on the Garden Route this is the place to stay. Good price, friendly people, very clean rooms, advice and help if requested and great base for De Hoop and Agulas.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

we only spent one night here on our way down the garden route but i would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. it is rated as a 3 star lodge but should really be rated as a 4 star. the rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated with loads of attention to detail. the grounds are beautiful as well with views of the mountains from the pool area. breakfast is served outside on the patio and consists of fresh fruit salad, cereal/müsli, toast, and bacon and eggs any way you like them. the service is very personal and extremely friendly. i would def come back here for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyJ_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.9 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1.0 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marula Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marula Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 111 Voortrek Street | 111 Voortrek Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marula Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marula Lodge is a modern-African styled Guesthouse with a friendly atmosphere, situated in the picturesque town of Swellendam.The Guesthouse is within walking distance of various fine restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine. Amenities and a variety of shops are also within walking distance.We offer comfortable accommodation, a sparkling salt water pool with stunning mountain views and serve a sumptuous breakfast on the garden terrace.All our in African style decorated en-suite double rooms, have tiled or wooden floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marula Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing