We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Marula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marula Lodge
Ranked #7 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great place to stay. People very friendly and also very helpful with suggestion on things to do in the region.
Breakfast very good.
Swellendam is a very good place to stay. From there you can reach many places, like De Hoop NP, Cape Agulhas, the garden route and so on.
We really suggest this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadoTessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

Crisp, clean with tasteful decor and high quality fittings and linen. Lovely secluded pool and excellent breakfast as well. Friendly and helpful proprietors, but not intrusive. Not far from town centre and two good restaurants very close by.. Couldn't think of any negatives at all - excellent all round.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was an easy stop for us as we travelled up the Garden Route. Swellendam isn;t exactly somewhere I'd stop to see itself, but it's a good place to have a base if you're interested in driving around to see stuff like De Hoop naational park (big white sand dunes cascading into turquoise sea) and Agulas, the southern most tip of Africa, both being possible in a single worthwhile day trip. The guesthouse itself is owned by a very friendly german couple who will help you with any tips and advice you need for the area. they offer a great breakfast, the pool is great and the rooms are very quiet even though the main road is outside, but its not a very busy road. If you're stopping off on the Garden Route this is the place to stay. Good price, friendly people, very clean rooms, advice and help if requested and great base for De Hoop and Agulas.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

we only spent one night here on our way down the garden route but i would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. it is rated as a 3 star lodge but should really be rated as a 4 star. the rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated with loads of attention to detail. the grounds are beautiful as well with views of the mountains from the pool area. breakfast is served outside on the patio and consists of fresh fruit salad, cereal/müsli, toast, and bacon and eggs any way you like them. the service is very personal and extremely friendly. i would def come back here for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileyJ_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Toosje and I are (50+) travelling already a couple of years around South Africa and make a choice of all B&B's available.
BUT, everytime we stay 2 to 3 days(as from january 2009) in Swellendam, to see Filip & Marion, owners of Marula Lodge, to relax, discuss live and get the latest information what to do in the surroundings of Swellendam. It is a fantastic location to make day-trips, coming back to relax at the pool and/or in the marvelous garden. Or playing "football" with Pedro (the Tibetian Terrier), who is better than Gullit or Cruyf
We will come back next year Filip & Marion or between for my work in Capetown, as it is only 2.5 hours drive from Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToosjeWevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Marula Lodge the rooms are a nice size and the best rooms face the pool the owners are very friendly and have lots of local knowledge about the area and which restaurants are good to eat at

Watch perdro play football and you will be amazed

Great value for money and definitely worth the stop over to relax and enjoy the small country town

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed very briefly on our way to Cape Town from Addo. We arrived about 6 in the evening and left the next day about 6 in the morning. The german owners (Filip and Marion) were extremely friendly and helpful. They let us use Filip's laptop as we didn't have our own to access the Internet, they gave us restaurant recommendations for dinner and Marion woke up very early to make us breakfast for the drive to Cape Town. Their two dogs were very friendly but not overwhelming.

The room was nicely decorated and a good size (hot water were bottles provided, which was nice on the cold night we stayed) and bathroom was very clean and large. There was an abundance of information about things to do in Swellendam in the room (in German and English) which made me sad we couldn't stay longer! Will go back when I get the chance to go to South Africa next.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keineideen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
1 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
265 reviews
1 mi away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marula Lodge

Address: 111 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa (Formerly Marula Lodge Guesthouse)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $54 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marula Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marula Lodge is a modern-African styled Guesthouse with a friendly atmosphere, situated in the picturesque town of Swellendam.The Guesthouse is within walking distance of various fine restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine. Amenities and a variety of shops are also within walking distance.We offer comfortable accommodation, a sparkling salt water pool with stunning mountain views and serve a sumptuous breakfast on the garden terrace.All our in African style decorated en-suite double rooms, have tiled or wooden floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing