We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of a good clean and maintenance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very good location for hiking and some nice restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful but the hostel itself is very tired and in need of maintenance. We had booked the double on suit room and paid 410 Rand which was expensive for the quality of the room. We arrived late evening and had to catch and release at least 5 spiders from our room when we arrived and swat loads of Mosquitos that had gathered in there before we could sleep. It also smelt quite damp and was very dark and gloomy. The kitchen was quite dirty and had a missing window which allowed the insects in at night. Overall we wouldn't re visit as I'm sure there are nicer hostels in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location is pretty, next to the Marloth nature reserve. Also a great bird-filled backyard and a comfortable bed. And that's all the positive things i could think of thinking of my stay.
The place is very worn down, the showers were cold all weekend. Not very clean as well.
The communal kitchen is very small & old and only opens at 8.00 am so if you want to hike out early, make sure you got your own equipment.
The website states there's a Braai every night (not true, at least not the 2 nights i stayed and the weather was lovely), it states you can rent bikes (not true) and you can reserve breakfast (not true). Price for the double room is very steep, i would expect more.
The worst thing was that the female hostess was very cranky.
Swellendam is lovely but i wouldn't stay at this backpackers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a wooden hut at the adventure lodge. The hut was compact, but very comfortable and cosy. Plenty of oil lamps where provided for light and the bedding was warm, so we where not cold at night. The shared bathroom facilites were adequate and clean. It wasn't very busy when we stayed, so we never had to wait for a shower. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was useful to have access to the internet too (on PCs in the bar/reception area - at a reasonable cost). The cooking facilites were good, but we only prepared a cold meal, so we can't really comment on them much. The atmosphere was friendly in the lodge and comfortable.
Swellendam has some nice little cafes and restaurants, so a meal out, at a resonable cost, can definately be had. However, the immadiate area hasn't got a lot to offer and I'm not sure I would recommend Swellendam as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lala_Kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Without booking in advance we arrived in a warm place and were giving a beautiful en suite room with view into a wild and beautiful garden next to the mountains.
The owner invited us for dinner (free of charge!!) and made us feel like a king as there were not many other guests.
So go to Swellendam Backpackers- relax by one of the fire places inside- go for a horseride up the mountains and enjoy the peace of the village!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeleneBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This place should not be advertised as having a kitchen - no hot water, toaster or microwave and only one burner on cooker that worked. Old and dirty kitcen utensils and grubby work surfaces. Eat out or have a barbeque on the camp fire if you stay here. En suite room ok but bathroom not very clean and therefore overpriced. However the surroundings are pretty with a nice large garden. Owner is friendly and cooks in the evening. Its a pity because with a bit of T.L.C. this place could be really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a double en suite room. The room was dirty and the furniture very old. The bed was OK though.
We like to self cater, but one look at the self catering kitchen, which was terrible, we decided to eat and drink at the local Cafe Matessons (highly recommended). There was no free coffee and tea making facilities which is offered at most other backpackers in South Africa.
The only good points were the flat screen TV and the evening camp-fire.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Very friendly welcome when we arrived on the Baz Bus.
Lovely double room with ensuite.
Beautiful gardens and setting.
Reasonable internet prices - two computers available.
Delicious home cooked meals available - highly recommended. Bar.
Camp Kitchen area is really basic and not really very clean or well lit (only negative really - it could be much improved).
We went on a horseback ride...beautiful path but the guide barely talked to us and told us nothing about the area or any advice on how to ride the horses (we were both nearly beginners really).
Town is great and the hikes are amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swellendam
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
24.8 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
1.9 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellendam Backpackers Adventure Lodge

Address: 5 Lichtenstein Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Swellendam
Price Range: $51 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy wooden cabins and luxury en suite rooms lie in a lush bird filled garden fringed by its own gurgling mountain stream and the Marloth Nature Reserve. Halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route it is ideally situated to hike or horse ride through indigenous forests or wander through the picturesque village. Beneath the most spectacular peaks of the Langeberg Mountains Swellendam is the 3rd oldest magisterial district in South Africa with plenty of inspiring and peaceful experiences. Sit around our welcome fire under starry skies and enjoy the countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing