We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal place to spent a night on the way from Cape Town to Mosselbay”
Review of African Shades B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Shades B&B
Ranked #19 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

African Shades is a nice B&B with cute appartments. It is the ideal place to spent a night on the way from Cape Town to Mosselbay where the Garden Route starts. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms were tidy and clean and decorated with a little African influence. Only negative thing is that there is no w-lan. The breakfast was excellent, scrambled eggs or omlette, bread, juice, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaffeeanne_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2009

We came to Swellendam on our first visit to South Africa. Not knowing what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised by the friendly welcome we received. We stayed in the family cottage and it was just perfect. Swellendam is a charming little town and it's very safe to go our at night for a stroll. The B&B is conveniently loacated in the middle of the town in easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The view is stunning.
We would definately come again.
The Gosling family UK

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

If you are looking for a neatly, but modestly, furnished B & B that offers very affordable accommodations, the African Shades is for you. The owners, Quilene, Hein and Wyand, are young and very enthusiastic, with an impressive need to please. The best of the six rooms is named the "Luxury Suite." The B & B has a large swimming pool, is well-located and serves breakfast and lunch. Hein, the owner-chef, is proud to serve food made freshly to order. There is also a small gift shop on the premises that offers authentic african crafts, jewelry and trinkets.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreast843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank wcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.2 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Shades B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Shades B&B

Address: 13 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $62 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Shades B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed & breakfast located in the beautiful, historic town of Swellendam, right across from the Drostdy Museum. Expect a warm welcome, clean, spacious rooms, super comfortable beds and luxurious cotton percale linen. We offer 6 en-suite rooms all with separate entrances and private patios. Our swimming pool has stunning mountain views and offers welcome relief for those hot, summer days. At our Arts & Crafts shop, the best of modern and traditional South African crafts and designs are on display. Colourful, unique and inspiring!Our restaurant is shaded under large oak trees and overlooks the Langeberg Mountains. Open for breakfast and lunch, this is the ideal spot for a quick refreshment stop. As a family run business, we pride ourselves in always providing friendly, personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your African Shades B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing