We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
Ranked #23 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had just one night at Impangele, but were very impressed with the warm welcome and friendly and attentive service from Amanda and David. Nothing seemed too much trouble. This quirky little B&B has themed bedrooms; ours was the Leopard Room. This ensuite room was spacious and the bed comfortable. There was a tea and coffee-making facility.
It was a Saturday afternoon and Amanda advised us that we should book a table at a restaurant for that evening. She and David made some very helpful suggestions about where we should go, produced some menus for us to look at and once we had made our choice Amanda booked a table for us at Field and Fork.
Amanda and David are ex-pats. It was interesting to read Amanda's diary entries about their move from the UK to SA and how they transformed a run-down building into a B & B.
The breakfast was as good as one could expect from an upmarket hotel: cereals, fruit, yoghurt, rolls, muffins, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, etc...
Keen bird-watchers will be enchanted with this place. Amanda will take great delight in telling you about the different species that come down to feed at the outside terrace. We had our breakfast outside and were fascinated to watch them.
To sum up, Impangele is quietly situated,comfortable, has perfect hosts, is very reasonably priced and makes an ideal stopover for Garden Routes or to or from Cape Town airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for 2 nights. Everything was clean and pretty. The owners are very nice and they help where they can. We can really recommend this quiet place in a beautiful sourrounding. It's a good place if you visit Bontebok NP and De Hoop NP.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marc-Alain_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Firstly, it was great that they accommodated us with short notice during peak season. The accommodation was very affordable but incredibly comfortable and homely with a dash of the quirky and fun (we had the Zebra Room). Dave and Amanda were great hosts; professional and but also great to just have a nice chat and laugh with. And I loved reading Amanda's diary entries of their adventures in moving to SA and setting up the B&B. The B&B is in a great location; within walking distance of almost everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed only one night at the impangele guest house. As we were a family of five we decided to stay in the garden cottage. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Amanda told me beforehand that the cottage is simple but priced to reflect its simplicity. And she was right. We had everything we needed for one night.

They recommended us a restaurant nearby and I have to say that we had our best meal there in the whole south africa trip (and we ate a lot =)
Breakfast was served in the main building and was fresh, yummy and had everything we asked for (coffee, tea, muffins, fruits, yoghurt, eggs, mushrooms, bacon, and so on...)

It was so nice staying there and chatting with both of them how they made their way to south africa. If you are ever in this area stay there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved our stay at Impangele. Dave & Amanda were great and upgraded us from the Leopard Room to the cottage on our return. The free wine is a bonus!!! Breakfast was excellent; pool disappointing :-(

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed there just for one night, after visiting De Hoop.
Swellendam itself is just a small location, but there is a good restaurant nearby the hotel, about which David told us and where we ate our dinner.
It is called "the Vagabond".
The Impangele itself is a wonderful place to stay.
You feel at home at one because the rooms are designed with love.
Every room has a theme: zebra, giraffe or leopard, these are the rooms we saw.
Everything in the room, even a soft toy is in this style.
The room is very clean, the breakfast made by Dave and his wife, is delicious.
And the price is, for what you get, nothing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jupi257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Swellendam
1
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location was wonderful, situated in a calm living area. The breakfast stunningly good, everything fresh and lots of various food. The hosts so friendly! We would definitely come back and can recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.5 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flametree Guesthouse
Flametree Guesthouse
#16 of 39 in Swellendam
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Guesthouse LaRachelle
#32 of 39 in Swellendam
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage

Address: 10 Andrew Whyte Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $41 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impangele lies near the base of the Langeberg mountain range. It offers superb accommodation, in either of three luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray, complimentary chocolates and liqueurs. The rooms are furnished in contemporary African style, with quirky yet tasteful references to African animals. There is also a lovely family cottage which can sleep up to six people. This can be booked on a self catering basis or with optional breakfast. Impangele boasts a peaceful indigenous garden, with stunning mountain views and has a farm style plunge pool. Amanda and David will warmly welcome you to their beautiful home and being very knowledgeable about the area will help you plan your onward trip, as well as give you plenty of tips for unusual things to do and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing