We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Great Service”

Old Gaol Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

On holiday in Swellendam looking for a good restaurant, but to find this little jewel. We walked in on a cold and stormy winters day...A FIRE PLACE to warm you and friendly staff with smiles and ready to assist.
Ordered our lunch and had THE most amazing lunch, value for money and super quality. A definite return visit to the Old Gaol Restaurant next time we pass through!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirgitB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    101
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swellendam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Sitting on the deck under the oak trees, with a view of the Big White Church, behind which the majestic Langeberg mountains create a stunning background to this beautiful little town - what more could you ask for? Delicious food, prepared with attention to flavour, taste and presentation? Efficient service, which comes with a smile at no extra cost? You will get all of this at the Old Gaol on Church Square. The only problem is that it was too tempting to sit there all afternoon! But it was time well wasted, and I have no hesitation in recommending the food... lovely farm cheeses and biltong, hand baked roosterkoeke, and rotis, stuffed with minced curry, which were absolutely amazing!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
1 review
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped here for lunch while driving east from Capetown. Lucked into it - we were walking down the main street and stopped to pet a cute puppy and the woman walking it recommend the Old Gaol. Beautiful peaceful setting, very friendly people, and spectacular food. Everything was great, from the soup to the homemade ginger beer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wholesome food, friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited the Swellendam in Dec 2011 as a 3 day break from our holiday at the sea in Cape Town. We arrived in the afternoon on a public holiday so most of the restaurants were either closed or fully booked. We went to The Old Gaol for a light lunch of home made chicken pie and salad, which was excellent and wholesome. We went back the next day for their roostekoek, a type of bread roasted on coals, with cheese, which was just perfect. The traditional milk tart was a delicious end to the meal. The staff were friendly and accommodating even making me tea with fresh mint leaves out of the garden. The owner was very entertaining giving us a quick history lesson on Swellendam. Definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLoverSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
657 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Nostalgia blends with contemporary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stopped here en-route from the Garden Route. A museum, garden and antique shop are located in the back. The service was prompt and the food was excellent: ample sized portions of chicken pie with a good crust served with al denté vegetables and a sauce. My roosterkoek & biltong and cheese was fresh from the coals and served with grilled vegetables. We relished some moerkoffie (coffee) and milktart baked in a copper pan on the fire. There was enough coffee for four cups. A TV crew was also on site filming some braai dishes with a local celeb. It seems like the place to stop in Swellendam!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Gaol Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Old Gaol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing