We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Persona service , Rich amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse LaRachelle
Ranked #33 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We choose Swellendam to be one of our place to stay along our tour in the Garden Route. We had no specific information about this place. We found Swellendam very nice and pastoral . The big surprise was La Rachelle Guesthouse . It was easy to find, the owner him self was waiting for us and directing to safe parking. The house is elegant decorated The room is located in a garden and well equipped with rich amenities. The breakfast. Is Ok , don't expect rich buffet it's more like continental .
We would also recommend to provide wifi
Free, as most hotels .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doukg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

This place is not as described, there is no pool, the lady host is abrupt, unfriendly and condecending, the bathroom lacks cleanliness the toilet seat made of wood yuk, the carpets and rugs were dirty. The tea and cofee tray lacked milk , so I went and asked the owner if he would be kind enough to provide some, he went into he private quarters and gave me some in an open jug. In total it was a complete disapointment. It progects secure parking, what that means is you "leave it on the drive and it will be fine" or at least that is what the owner told us. Its boasts 4 stars, I would say 1 star would be a compliment. My wife and I on a road trip, say we always get one bad stay! well La Rochelle was it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunner161045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRachelle, Owner at Guesthouse LaRachelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are appalled by this review. The guest NEVER once mentioned any of his "complaints" to any of us. We had a delightful conversation during breakfast and they even wrote "thank you very much"in our guestbook.
We, that is myself, my wife and other personnel have NEVER been abrupt, unfriendly or condescending to our guests. As a matter of fact we have always been complimented on our hospitality and friendlyness. See any of the other reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were in the process of removing the pool off our premises and it was finalised a day before their visit. Our website will soon be updated with new photographs.
We have checked the rugs, bathroom and coffee/tea making facilities and found them to be in order. We choose to have wooden toilet seats instead of plastic ones.
Yes, I did gave the guest a jug of milk when he asked for it. I cannot understand his complaint. How were I supposed to give it to him??
Well, in short we are extremely unhappy with this unjust review and appeal to you to remove it from your website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed one night and had a room at the back by the small pool. The decor in the guest house is superbly done, very tasteful. The room was large, although I did not see any tea/coffee making facilities which would suit some guests. The bathroom was very large and well appointed, there was a guests lounge with an honour bar and books and magazines if required. The English breakfast was very good. I will certainly stay here again next time I am in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

A friendly helpful family run guest house where we stayed the one night on our way back to Cape Town. The accommodation is located on the edge of town but close to a couple of restaurants.

The breakfast was arranged the previous day and we opted for the continental style which was great - boiled eggs, fruit, toast and cereals etc.

The room was a little on the small side and located at the front by the road so a bit noisy/hot at times although a fan was provided. Also our toilet was a bit temperamental and although we mentioned this it didn't appear to be resolved during the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stopped off in Swellendam to break the drive and what a little gem it is? Very pretty setting and lovely houses and restaurants. La Rachelle was easy to find and very welcoming. Our room was very nice with a lovely bathroom. Very quiet and overlooked the small pool area. Our hosts were very kind and helpful and recommended a lovely restaurant nearby. Lovely relaxing breakfast before we headed off. The town is very sweet and well worth a walk around. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank JL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packmichein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
1 mi away
Old Thatch Lodge
Old Thatch Lodge
#21 of 40 in Swellendam
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impangele B and B & Self Catering Cottage
0.6 mi away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#9 of 40 in Swellendam
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse LaRachelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse LaRachelle

Address: 8 Somerset Street | PO Box 562, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: $49 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse LaRachelle 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, cosy and comfortable, hallmark this family run charming guesthouse in Swellendam. Ideally situated halfway between Cape Town and Outdshoorn and or the well known Garden Route. Your hosts, Marius and Rachelle, will welcome you with warm and good old fashioned country hospitality. LaRachelle offers five smoke free en-suite bedrooms in great comfort with separate entrances opening on to a secure and private enclosure. Relax, after an active day, in the comfort of your bedroom or in the lounge. With most trendy restaurants and places of interest within walking distance, Guesthouse LaRachelle is the perfect choice of accommodation and offers an intimate and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Guesthouse LaRachelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing